Gophers Hand Out Annual Team Awards
Dec. 11, 2017

Photo Gallery

MINNEAPOLIS  – The Golden Gophers celebrated the 2017 cross country season with their annual team banquet at TCF Bank Stadium on Sunday. Minnesota handed out its end-of-season awards along with honoring its team captains and letterwinners.

The Gophers honored 2017 team captains Amelia Barczi, Bailey Ness, Patty O'Brien, Paige Peschel, and Madeline Strandemo for their commitment to the team and leadership during the season.

Strandemo earned her fourth letter while Courtney Alama, Emily Betz, Molly Eastman, Ness, and O'Brien were recognized with their third letter awards. Bethany Hasz; Megan Hasz, and Elyse Prescott earned their second letter awards, and first-time letterwinners Emily Castanias, Delaney FitzPatrick, Lindsey Greenlund, Abby Kohut-Jackson, Zetta Mason, Samantha Prouty, Sarah Werking, Rachel Wians, and Barczi received their University of Minnesota letter jackets as well.

2017 Gopher Team Awards

Madeline Strandemo
Bethany Hasz
Megan Hasz

Iron Gopher
Kelsey Sather

Blue Collar
Courtney Alama
Kelli Schmidt

Freshman of the Year
Abby Kohut-Jackson

Carl Barylak Inspiration Award
Amelia Barczi

Tough as Nails
Bailey Ness
Elyse Prescott

Most Improved
Carissa Dock
Abby Lange
Zetta Mason

Academic Commitment
Zetta Mason

Coaches Award
Paige Peschel
Rachel Wians





Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

6/12/2018 - W. Cross Country

Minnesota was one of 15 NCAA Division I women's programs honored by the USTFCCCA in this year's Program of the Year standings.

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/29/2018 - W. Cross Country

Representing the Maroon & Gold are Temi Ogunrinde, Kiley Sabin, Lindsey Smits, Madeline Strandemo, Derek Wiebke and Alec Basten. All six are now eligible for Google Cloud Academic All-Ame...

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

5/8/2018 - W. Cross Country

Madeline Strandemo enters this week's Big Ten Championship as the B1G defending champion in the 3,000m steeplechase.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics