16 Gophers Named Academic All-Big Ten
Senior Rachel Drake

Dec. 11, 2013

Big Ten Release

MINNEAPOLIS– Sixteen Golden Gopher women's cross country student-athletes have been honored as Academic All-Big Ten honorees, the Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday morning.

The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 869 fall sports student-athletes who have been named to the academic all-conference team. In total, 72 Gopher student-athletes from five teams were honored for their academic successes. Minnesota had 70 fall academic All-Big Ten honorees in 2012.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Seniors Rachel Drake and Katie Moraczewski are four-time academic All-Big Ten honorees. Drake, a biochemistry and Spanish major, was nominated for the Rhodes Scholarship this fall. Last year, she was honored as a Big Ten Conference Distinguished Scholar as well. Meanwhile, Moraczewski is a graphic design and strategic communications major.

Five other Gophers joined Drake and Moraczewski as repeat honoress: Liz Berkholtz (2012, 2013), Maggie Bollig (2011, 2012, 2013), Laura Docherty (2011, 2012, 2013), Becca Dyson (2012, 2013) and Molly Kayfes, (2011, 2012, 2013).

Nine Gophers earned their first academic distinction from the Big Ten this fall. Six of Minnesota's seven NCAA Championship runners received academic All-Big Ten honors: Berkkholtz, Bollig, Docherty, Dyson, Kayfes and Moraczewski, and all three alternates were honored in Drake, Kaitlin Mincke and Kaila Urick.

Minnesota Women's Cross Country Academic All-Big Ten Honorees
Te'Shon Adderley - Sr., Business and Marketing Education, Nassau, Bahamas
Abby Anderson - Sr., Nursing, Perham, Minn.
Megan Bailey - Jr., Broadcast Journalism, Minnetonka, Minn.
Liz Berkholtz - Jr., Psychology and Kinesiology, Sun Prairie, Wis.
Maggie Bollig - Sr., Human Resources and Psychology, Cross Plains, Wis.
Laura Docherty - Sr., Marketing, St. Paul, Minn.
Rachel Drake - Sr., Biochemistry and Spanish, White Bear Lake, Minn.
Becca Dyson - Jr., Strategic Communications, Roseville, Minn.
Katie Hill - Sr., Sociology and Political Science, Onalaska, Wis.
Haley Johnson - So., Food Science, Plymouth, Wis.
Jillian Johnson - Sr., Microbiology/Pre-Med, Green Bay, Wis.
Molly Kayfes - Sr., Marketing, Maple Grove, Minn.
Kaitlin Mincke - Sr., Strategic Communications, Farmington, Minn.
Katie Moraczewski - Sr., Graphic Design and Strategic Communications, White Bear Lake, Minn.
Kaila Urick - Jr., Strategic Journalism, Chaska, Minn.
Jamie Vandenberg - Sr., Kinesiology, Niagara, Wis.

The Big Ten Conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the winter and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. 

The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference faculty representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school.





Gophers Volunteer at Feed My Starving Children


The Gophers took a team outing to volunteer at Feed My Starving Children during winter break.

Distance Gophers Set for Track


Coach Sarah Hopkins previews the distance squad as the Gophers prepare to kick off the 2017 track & field season.

Faces of the Big Ten: Madeline Strandemo


The Gophers cross country and track & field student-athlete is featured in this year's Faces of the Big Ten campaign.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics