Gophers Set for Big Ten Championship
Molly Kayfes
2013 Big Ten Championships
Date Sunday, Nov. 3, 2013
Location Boilermaker Cross Country Course, West Lafayette, Ind.
Course 6K
Time 9:45 a.m. CT – Men’s 8K; 10:45 a.m. CT – Women’s 6K
Details 2013 Big Ten Championships

Oct. 29, 2013

Meet Notes Get Acrobat Reader

MINNEAPOLIS – The No. 15 Minnesota women’s cross country team begins championship season this weekend at the 2013 Big Ten Championships hosted by Purdue University at the Boilermaker Cross Country Course in West Lafayette, Ind. The women’s 6K race is set for 10:45 a.m. CT Sunday.

The Golden Gophers look to improve on their fourth-place finish at the 2012 Big Ten Championship. Minnesota returns all nine runners from last year’s team.

2012 Big Ten Championships Rewind

Laura Docherty paced the team with a ninth-place individual finish as the Gophers took fourth at the 2012 Big Ten Championships in East Lansing, Mich. With 134 points, Minnesota came in behind Big Ten champion Michigan (55), Michigan State (75), and Penn State (96).

Docherty earned All-Big Ten Second Team honors with her ninth-place showing. Molly Kayfes (21:00.7) and Katie Moraczewski (21:01.0) finished less than a second apart in 26th and 27th as Minnesota’s second and third runners.

About the 2013 Big Ten Championships

Purdue University will host the 2013 Big Ten Men's & Women's Cross Country Championships on Sunday, Nov. 3 at the Boilermaker Cross Country Course. It is the first time since 2002 that the Boilermakers have hosted the championships and the first time since the course was redesigned earlier this season. The men's race is scheduled to start at 9:45 a.m. CT and the women's race will follow at 10:45 a.m. Admission is free for the event and parking in adjacent lots will be $10.

Last Time Out: Johnson Leads Gophers at Jack’s Run

Redshirt freshman Haley Johnson led the Gophers with a career-best time of 22:00.5 at the sixth annual Jack's Twilight Run at Les Bolstad Course last Saturday night.

Johnson was the top Gopher finisher, coming in second among females in the open 6K race. Ashlie Decker ran unattached and posted a time of 21:48.3 as the top female.

Senior Cassy Opitz, senior Katie Hill and redshirt freshman Taylor Mikkalson rounded out the top five females. Opitz clocked in at 22:21.8, while Hill (22:30.8) and Mikkalson (22:34.3) were close behind. Hill's time marked her career-best 6K.

Minnesota Against Big Ten Foes

The Gophers faced Big Ten Conference opponents in head-to-head action at two meets this season, the Roy Griak Invitational and the Wisconsin adidas Invitational. Michigan State and Minnesota led the conference in both meets. At the Griak, the second-place Spartans and fourth-place Gophers came in ahead of Iowa (21st) and Nebraska (24th). The Wisconsin adidas Invitational saw Michigan State come in fourth, followed by Minnesota (eighth), Indiana (12th), Wisconsin (17th) and Northwestern (34th).

Gophers Jump to No. 15

Minnesota climbed seven places to No. 15 in the most recent USTFCCCA NCAA Division I National Coaches' Poll (Oct. 22). Following head-to-head national competition at the Wisconsin adidas Invitational and the Pre-Nationals meet, Arizona claimed the No. 1 ranking, followed by No. 2 Arkansas, No. 3 Georgetown, No. 4 Providence, and No. 5 Florida State.

Six Big Ten Conference teams are ranked entering the Big Ten meet as No. 6 Michigan State, No. 14 Michigan, No. 21 Indiana, No. 28 Wisconsin and No. 29 Penn State join No. 15 Minnesota among the nation’s top 30.

Big Ten Network to Provide Delayed Coverage

The Big Ten Network will offer delayed coverage of the 2013 Big Ten Cross Country Championships, airing the event at 11 a.m. CT on Thursday, Nov. 14.

Up Next: Rocky’s Run/NCAA Midwest Regional

The Gophers host Rocky’s Run at Les Bolstad Course on Sunday, Nov. 10 before competing in the NCAA Midwest Regional meet on Friday, Nov. 15 in Ames, Iowa.





Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

6/12/2018 - W. Cross Country

Minnesota was one of 15 NCAA Division I women's programs honored by the USTFCCCA in this year's Program of the Year standings.

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/29/2018 - W. Cross Country

Representing the Maroon & Gold are Temi Ogunrinde, Kiley Sabin, Lindsey Smits, Madeline Strandemo, Derek Wiebke and Alec Basten. All six are now eligible for Google Cloud Academic All-Ame...

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

5/8/2018 - W. Cross Country

Madeline Strandemo enters this week's Big Ten Championship as the B1G defending champion in the 3,000m steeplechase.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics