Gophers Set for Races in Wisconsin
Kate Bucknam
Wisconsin adidas Invitational
Date Saturday, Oct. 19, 2013
Location Thomas Zimmer Championship Cross Country Course, Madison, Wis.
Championship Races Men's 8K - 11 a.m. | Women's 6K - Noon
“B” Races Men's 8K - 12:45 p.m. | Women's 6K - 1:20 p.m.
Tori Neubauer Invitational
Date Saturday, Oct. 19, 2013
Location Maple Grove Country Club, West Salem, Wis.
Events Men’s 8K - 10:30 a.m. | Women’s 6K - 11:30 a.m.

Oct. 15, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS – The No. 22 Minnesota women’s cross country team is racing in two meets in Wisconsin this Saturday. The Golden Gophers’ top runners head to Madison, Wis., for the Wisconsin adidas Invitational at noon, while the rest of the squad is racing at the Tori Neubauer Invitational at 11:30 a.m.

About the Wisconsin adidas Invitational

The fifth-annual Wisconsin adidas Invitational is set for Saturday, Oct. 19, 2013. In just four years, the race has become one of the nation's premier collegiate meets. Thirty-six women’s teams and 35 men’s teams are slated to participate this year. The highlight of the event is an 8-kilometer men's race and a 6-kilometer women's race. The event also includes “B” races for both men and women. All four races will be held on the Thomas Zimmer Championship Cross Country Course, which opened in 2009 and is located adjacent to University Ridge Golf Course in Madison.

About the Tori Neubauer Invitational

The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is pleased to host the Drews/Neubauer Invitational. The annual cross country meet is held in honor of Jim Drews and Tori Neubauer, former UW-La Crosse All-Americans and national champions. The 2013 event begins with the Jim Drews Race at 10:30 a.m., followed by the Tori Neubauer Race at 11:30 a.m. at the Maple Grove Country Club in West Salem, Wis.

Last Time Out: Gophers Win SDSU Classic, Blugold Invite

The Gophers won two meets on October 4. Minnesota claimed the top 10 individual places to win the SDSU Classic 5K, while redshirt freshmen Haley Johnson and Taylor Mikkalson each recorded career-best times to lead the Gophers to a first-place finish at the Blugold Invitational.

At the SDSU Classic, junior Molly Kayfes and seniors Maggie Bollig, Laura Docherty and Katie Moraczewski led the way for the Gophers, taking the top four places and finishing within a seven-second span. Kayfes crossed the line in 17:29.01, followed by Bollig in 17:30.21. Docherty finished in 17:34.83 with Moraczewski on her heels in 17:35.29. In total, seven Gophers posted sub-18 minute times for the 5K course. Senior Kelli Budd (17:41.11), sophomore Becca Dyson (17:51.96) and senior Rachel Drake (17:54.52) finished in the top seven places.

Meanwhile, Minnesota posted a team score of 44 at the Blugold Invite led by Johnson's fourth-place finish. Johnson recorded a 6K time of 22:09.10, marking her second-straight career-best outing. The Plymouth, Wis., native took over 10 seconds off her Griak time to lead Minnesota. Meanwhile, Mikkalson also bettered a career-best mark from the Griak, taking sixth in 22:17.02 and cutting 38 seconds off her time from her previous race. The trio of senior Cassy Opitz (22:37.34), senior Katie Hill (22:38.06) and sophomore Hannah Trasser (22:40.28) rounded out the Gophers' top five.

Gophers Rank No. 22

Minnesota is ranked No. 22 in the most recent USTFCCCA NCAA Division I National Coaches' Poll (Oct. 8). No. 1 Providence and No. 2 Florida State maintained their places at the top of the poll, followed by No. 3 Arizona, No. 4 Washington and No. 5 Georgetown to complete the top five.

No. 9 Michigan State, No. 14 Michigan and No. 27 Penn State are the only other Big Ten Conference teams currently ranked in the top 30.

The Gophers remained the second-ranked Midwest Region squad in last week’s USTFCCCA Division I Regional Rankings (Oct. 7). National No. 19 Oklahoma State maintained the top regional spot, followed by the Gophers, Iowa State, Tulsa and Bradley in the top five.

The new USTFCCCA regional rankings and national poll will be released next week.

2012 Wisconsin adidas Invitational Rewind

The Gophers finished 16th of 48 teams at last season’s Wisconsin adidas Invitational. Laura Docherty (20:29) and Molly Kayfes (20:30) led the way in 51st and 55th place, respectively. A tie-breaker put Minnesota ahead of Boston College, with whom they tied in total points (482). The meet featured 20 teams in the USTFCCCA’s top-30 poll. Iowa State won the team title with 109 points, and Cal Poly freshman Laura Hollander took home the individual crown in 19:33.

2012 Tori Neubauer Invitational Rewind

The Gophers won last season’s Tori Neubauer Invitational on a rainy day in La Crosse, Wis. Stephanie Solfelt (22:32.1), Kaitlin Mincke (22:32.7) and Jessica Schmidt (22:33.5) finished in a tight pack in ninth through 11th. Hannah Trasser, Katie Hill, Kaila Urick, and Heather Brunn completed the Gophers’ top seven spots. Minnesota posted a team score of 82 to finish ahead of second-place Wartburg by 17 points.

Up Next: Jack’s Twilight Run

The Gophers return to Les Bolstad Course for the sixth annual Jack’s Twilight Run at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 26. The 6K run, which is open to the public, honors the late Minnesota equipment manager Jack Johnson. Proceeds of the race are divided equally between the Jack Johnson Endowed Scholarship and the Angel Foundation of Minnesota.

Jack Johnson will always be a part of the Minnesota women’s cross country and track programs. After serving as the Golden Gophers’ equipment manager for over three decades, Johnson passed away in February of 2006 after a battle with cancer.





Four Gophers Earn Academic All-America Nods

Four Gophers Earn Academic All-America Nods

6/21/2018 - W. Cross Country

Representing the Maroon & Gold are Second Team honorees Derek Wiebke and Madeline Strandemo and Third Team selections Temi Ogunrinde and Kiley Sabin.

Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

6/12/2018 - W. Cross Country

Minnesota was one of 15 NCAA Division I women's programs honored by the USTFCCCA in this year's Program of the Year standings.

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/29/2018 - W. Cross Country

Representing the Maroon & Gold are Temi Ogunrinde, Kiley Sabin, Lindsey Smits, Madeline Strandemo, Derek Wiebke and Alec Basten. All six are now eligible for Google Cloud Academic All-Ame...

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics