Drake, Morinishi Receive B1G Scholarships
Senior Rachel Drake

May 15, 2014

MINNEAPOLIS - Gopher cross country/track & field runner Rachel Drake and gymnast Justin Morinishi have been named Minnesota's recipients of the 2014 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship.

Two student-athletes from each of the 12 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program are annually awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements. This year's 24 recipients span 19 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including five student-athletes who plan to enroll in medical school and three honorees that will enter law school.

Drake, a native of White Bear Lake, Minn., studied biology and Spanish at the University of Minnesota. She plans to pursue an MD/PhD at Oregon Health and Science University in Portland, Ore. A four-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree in cross country, Drake was nominated as a Rhodes Scholar this winter. She also is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree in track & field.

A four-time letterwinner in cross country, Drake is a three-time Big Ten championships competitor and ran at the 2012 NCAA Midwest Regional and NCAA Championships. On the track, Drake owns the 10th best time in school history in the 10,000 meters at 34:47.56.

Morinishi will graduate with a degree in electrical engineering from the University of Minnesota. A Chesterfield, Mo., native, Morinishi plans to attend the University of California, San Diego to complete his master's degree in electrical engineering with a focus on nanoscale devices and systems.

Morinishi earned four varsity letters in gymnastics and is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. On the competition floor, Morinishi competed in four different events in his Gopher career: floor exercise, pommel horse, vault and high bar. At the Big Ten Championships this year, Morinishi was also honored with the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

To be eligible for the Big Ten postgraduate scholarship, student-athletes must have been in their final season of NCAA eligibility, maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student's postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

The complete list of 2013-14 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below:

Bruno Abdelnour, Men's Tennis
Anne Goering, Women's Swimming & Diving

Meghan Lappan, Women's Water Polo
Eric Ress, Men's Swimming & Diving

James Morris, Football
Marike Stribos, Field Hockey

David Moore, Men's Swimming & Diving
Kiley Tobel, Women's Track & Field

Michigan State
Jacob Jarzen, Men's Swimming & Diving
Kristen Kelsay, Women's Volleyball

Rachel Drake, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Justin Morinishi, Men's Gymnastics

Brandon Chapek, Football
Sunny Russell, Women's Rifle

Maria Kovalchuk, Field Hockey
Daniel Tyson, Baseball

Ohio State
Michael Newburger, Men's Gymnastics
Alexandra Norris, Women's Swimming & Diving

Penn State
Lindsay Musgrove, Women's Gymnastics
Matthew Salig, Men's Swimming & Diving

Cody Davis, Football
Kyle Mosier, Wrestling 

Michael Brice, Men's Track & Field/Cross Country
Ilana Friedman, Women's Ice Hockey





Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

6/12/2018 - W. Cross Country

Minnesota was one of 15 NCAA Division I women's programs honored by the USTFCCCA in this year's Program of the Year standings.

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/29/2018 - W. Cross Country

Representing the Maroon & Gold are Temi Ogunrinde, Kiley Sabin, Lindsey Smits, Madeline Strandemo, Derek Wiebke and Alec Basten. All six are now eligible for Google Cloud Academic All-Ame...

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

5/8/2018 - W. Cross Country

Madeline Strandemo enters this week's Big Ten Championship as the B1G defending champion in the 3,000m steeplechase.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics