Team Honored at Golden Goldys
Sophomore Rebecca Rethwisch entertained the crowd at the Golden Goldys.

April 29, 2014

Photo Gallery | Past Golden Goldys Awards

MINNEAPOLIS – The Gopher women's cross country and track & field program took home two team awards and three individuals were honored as the University of Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics department hosted the eighth annual Golden Goldys/Scholar Athlete banquet at TCF Bank Stadium Monday night.

The program took home the Community Service Team Award for leading all programs in the completion/involvement of community outreach during the past academic year. The award is based on community service hours per team member, and the information must be documented and tracked through the Office of Student-Athlete Development. The award is given annually to one male and one female team.

In addition, women's cross country was awarded the Gladys Brooks Commitment to Academic Excellence Award. This award is given annually to recognize a women’s athletics team that has demonstrated the highest level of commitment to academic excellence.

Three Gophers were honored for their individual academic achievements as well, highlighted by senior Rachel Drake receiving the Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship. Drake is a biochemistry major and plans to continue her education in an Md/PhD program next fall.

Drake and teammates Becca Dyson and Rebecca Rethwisch were among the recipients of the Top Five Award, which is handed out to the top five male and female student-athletes with the highest cumulative grade point average. The trio joined Erica Meyer (softball) and Jessica Plant (swimming) as the award recipients on the women's side.

Senior Kelli Budd and sophomore Jess Herauf were among the nominees for Female Breakthrough Athlete of the Year after outstanding performances during the 2013-14 season.

Budd had a standout senior season in cross country, racing in at the NCAA championship and regional meets for the first time in her Gopher career and helping the Gophers to a third-place team finish at the Big Ten Championship with an 18th place individual showing as Minnesota's fourth runner. She ran a season-best 21:26.5 at the Midwest Regional, placing 38th overall.

Herauf was nominated for her 2014 indoor track & field season, during which she earned second-team All-American honors by placing ninth in the pentathlon at the NCAA championships. Herauf scored a career-best 4,172 points in the pentathlon at the NCAA championships, including lifetime personal-best marks in the 60-meter hurdles (8.81), high jump (5-07, 1.70m) and long jump (19-4.25, 5.90m). She also earned All-Big Ten second team honors as Big Ten pentathlon runner-up with a then-career best 4,054 points.

The Golden Goldys voting process included spring sports of 2013 (baseball, men's and women's golf, rowing, softball, men's and women's outdoor track & field and men's and women's tennis) and the fall and winter sports of the 2013-14 athletic year.

2013-14 Golden Goldy Winners

Female Athlete of the Year
Rachel Banham, Basketball

Male Athlete of the Year
Adam Wilcox, Hockey

Female Rookie of the Year
Amanda Zahui B. Basketball

Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
David Cobb, Football

Female Breakthrough Athlete Of the Year
Rachael Bona, Hockey

Male Rookie of the Year
Wally Ellenson, Track & Field

Best Female Team

Best Male Team

Best Women's Team Coach
Jessica Allister, Softball

Best Men's Team Coach
Don Lucia, Hockey

Outstanding Student-Athlete Achievement Award
Sara Moulton, Softball
Nate Condon, Men's Hockey

Outstanding Achievement Award in Leadership and Service
Katherine Windsor, Rowing
Chris Hawthorne, Football 

Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship
Rachel Drake, WCC/TRK - Biochemistry
Justin Morinishi, M/GYM - Electrical Engineering

Gladys Brooks and Norman Borlaug Commitment to Academic Excellence Award
Women's Cross Country and Men's Golf  

Top Five Awards (top five GPAs for both men and women)
Rachel Drake, CC/TRK
Becca Dyson, CC/TRK
Erica Meyer, Softball
Jessica Plant, Swimming & Diving
Rebecca Rethwisch, CC/TRK
Nathan Fortunato, Gymnastics
Mathieu Froment, Tennis
Matthew Jergenson, Track & Field
Corey Mills, Swimming & Diving
Josh Shupe, Wrestling 

Teammate of the Year Award
Jeff Keiser, Chris Lagasse and Michelle Traen (Creative Services and Athletic Communications) 

Tom H. Swain Campus Recognition Award
University of Minnesota Orientation & First-Year Programs 

Richard "Pinky" McNamara Student-Athlete Achievement Award
Cedric Thompson, Football 

Community Service Team Award  
Women's Track & Field/Cross Country, Men's Swimming & Diving 

Outstanding Academic Team Award
Women's Teams - Soccer, Tennis
Men's Team - Swimming & Diving, Tennis





Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

Gophers Take 12th in Program of the Year Race

6/12/2018 - W. Cross Country

Minnesota was one of 15 NCAA Division I women's programs honored by the USTFCCCA in this year's Program of the Year standings.

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Six Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/29/2018 - W. Cross Country

Representing the Maroon & Gold are Temi Ogunrinde, Kiley Sabin, Lindsey Smits, Madeline Strandemo, Derek Wiebke and Alec Basten. All six are now eligible for Google Cloud Academic All-Ame...

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Madeline Strandemo

5/8/2018 - W. Cross Country

Madeline Strandemo enters this week's Big Ten Championship as the B1G defending champion in the 3,000m steeplechase.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics