Gophers Host 2017 Home Finale
Nov. 5, 2017

Meet Results

MINNEAPOLISSarah Werking, Molly Eastman, and Carissa Dock were the top-three attached Gophers while unattached rookies Jaycie Thomsen, Sophie Schmitz, and Tate Sweeney also finished among the top-20 overall finishers as the University of Minnesota women's cross country team hosted Rocky's Run Sunday morning at Les Bolstad Course.

Thomsen placed eighth overall as the top female finisher in the open 6K race, clocking a time of 22:58.5. Schmitz came in 12th overall as the third female in 23:41.5 followed by Sweeney in 23:52.3 for 14th overall as the fourth female.

Werking led the attached Gophers, placing fifth among female finishers in 15th overall (23:56.6), followed by Eastman in 16th (24:03.3). Dock rounded out the top three attached Gophers in 20th overall as the seventh female in 24:06.0.



Austin Bauer won the overall individual title in 20:01.5 as 97 runners ranging from 10-years-old to 77-years-old competed in the 37th annual running of Rocky's Run.

Rocky's Run was founded in 1981 to honor former Gopher runner Rochelle "Rocky" Racette, who died in a car accident that fall at the age of 22. While at the University of Minnesota, Racette was an All-American in track & field and cross country and champion of the Big Ten and Drake Relays 5,000-meter titles. The annual race is staged by the many members of the running community who knew and loved her. Racette's legacy lives on through the memory of those who knew her, and through Rocky's Run and the scholarship for which it raises money.

The Gophers are back in action on Friday as the NCAA postseason begins at the NCAA Midwest Regional in Ames, Iowa.

Gophers at Rocky's Run (Overall Place)
8. Jaycie Thomsen, 22:58.5
12. Sophie Schmitz, 23:41.5
14. Tate Sweeney, 23:52.3
15. Sarah Werking, 23:56.6
16. Molly Eastman, 24:03.3
20. Carissa Dock, 24:06.0
21. Anastasia Korzenowski, 24:10.7
22. Ally Smith, 24:17.8
23. Sarah Klecker, 24:32.2
24. Haley Rasmussen, 24:34.6
26. Kelli Schmidt, 24:37.1
27. Paige Peschel, 24:38.7
28. Bit Klecker, 24:39.0
31. Abby Lange, 25:00.3
34. Delaney FitzPatrick, 25:18.0
35. Maria Eastman, 25:22.0
43. Kelsey Sather, 26:22.8
45. Samantha Prouty, 26:42.2
49. Molly Roach, 27:07.7
50. Jenna Conzemius, 27:35.3



'U' Programs Earn USTFCCCA Academic Honors

'U' Programs Earn USTFCCCA Academic Honors

2/9/2018 - W. Cross Country

Both programs were among the best in the Big Ten with the women pacing the conference and the men ranking second.

Gophers to Host Summer Camps

Gophers to Host Summer Camps

2/4/2018 - W. Cross Country

Registration is now open for the 2018 Minnesota Track & Field and Cross Country youth camps on July 15-19, 2018.

Gophers Hand Out Annual Team Awards

Gophers Hand Out Annual Team Awards

12/11/2017 - W. Cross Country

Madeline Strandemo, Bethany Hasz, and Megan Hasz were named co-MVPs of the Gophers' 2017 season.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics