Johnson Leads Gophers at Jack's Run
Haley Johnson

Oct. 27, 2013

Jack's Run Results Get Acrobat Reader

FALCON HEIGHTS, Minn. – Redshirt freshman Haley Johnson (Plymouth, Wis.) led the Gophers with a career-best time of 22:00.5 at the sixth annual Jack's Twilight Run at Les Bolstad Course Saturday night.

Johnson was the top Gopher finisher, coming in second among females in the open 6K race. Ashlie Decker ran unattached and posted a time of 21:48.3 as the top female.

Senior Cassy Opitz (Eden Prairie, Minn.), senior Katie Hill (Onalaska, Wis.) and redshirt freshman Taylor Mikkalson (Mantorville, Minn.) rounded out the top five females. Opitz clocked in at 22:21.8, while Hill (22:30.8) and Mikkalson (22:34.3) were close behind. Hill's time marked her career-best 6K.

Fellow Gophers Anne Ferguson (Apple Valley, Minn.) and Andie Zeman (Hartland, Wis.) both recorded career-best times, coming in seventh and eighth in the female standings, respectively. Ferguson posted a time of 22:46.5, and Zeman finished in 22:51.3.

The pair of Stacey Swatek (Wisconsin Dells, Wis.) and Melissa Cabak (Plymouth, Minn.) completed the top 10 females as Swatek took ninth in a career-best 22:53.4 and Cabak was 10th in 22:54.7.

The top overall finisher was Mike Reneau of the Twin Cities Track Club in 18:46.6. In total, 63 runners participated in the sixth annual Jack's Run.

Jack's Run honors the late Minnesota equipment manage Jack Johnson. Johnson will always be a part of the Minnesota women’s cross country and track programs. After serving as the Golden Gophers’ equipment manager for over three decades, Johnson passed away in February 2006 after a battle with cancer.

Proceeds from the race are divided equally between the Jack Johnson Endowed Scholarship and the Angel Foundation of Minnesota. For more information on the Angel Foundation of Minnesota, please visit their website at

Up next for the Gophers is the 2013 Big Ten Championship on Sunday, Nov. 3, in West Lafayette, Ind. Purdue University will host the championship at the Boilermaker Cross Country Course. The women's race is scheduled for 10:45 a.m. CT. Admission is free for the event and parking in adjacent lots will be $10.





Gophers Hand Out Annual Team Awards

Gophers Hand Out Annual Team Awards

12/11/2017 - W. Cross Country

Madeline Strandemo, Bethany Hasz, and Megan Hasz were named co-MVPs of the Gophers' 2017 season.

B1G Recognizes 95 Gophers For Academics

B1G Recognizes 95 Gophers For Academics

12/6/2017 - W. Cross Country

Ninety-five University of Minnesota student-athletes have earned Academic All-Big Ten honors, announced Wednesday by the conference office.

2017 Cross Country Season in Review

2017 Cross Country Season in Review

11/25/2017 - W. Cross Country

Minnesota wrapped up the 2017 cross country season with a 19th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics