USTFCCCA Honors Stanford as All-American
Junior Devin Stanford
Junior Devin Stanford

June 16, 2014


MINNEAPOLIS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) has announced the list of those Division I student-athletes who earned USTFCCCA All-America honors for the 2014 outdoor track & field season.

Minnesota junior Devin Stanford is among the list of student-athletes honored for their performances at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships last weekend in Eugene, Ore. Stanford earned Second Team All-American honors for her 15th-place finish in the hammer throw.

The Gophers' 4x400-meter relay team of Te'Shon Adderly, Megan Geyen, Titania Markland and Jessica Waldvogel received honorable mention honors after finishing 19th as the first Minnesota 4x400m team to compete at the national championship as well.

The USTFCCCA awards First Team All-America honors to those who finished among the top eight in an individual or relay event as part of a team; Second Team All-America honors go to those who finished between ninth and 16th, and honorable mention honors are given to the remaining finishers.

Texas A&M took home the 2014 women's team title with 75 points at the national meet. Texas (66 points), Oregon (59), Florida (55) and Georgia (35) rounded out the top five in the team standings.

Two women picked up four All-America First Team honors in Olivia Ekponé of Texas A&M and Morolake Akinosun of Texas, and seven different women claimed three First-Team awards each. Oregon's Jenna Prandini, a three-time First-Team honoree, won the long jump and came within a thousandth of a second from winning the 200-meter dash to go along with a third-place showing in the 100-meter dash. Her 24 points were the most scored by a woman at the championships since 2001.



Other three-time honorees included Robin Reynolds of Florida, Kendall Baisden of Texas, Tynia Gaither of Southern California, and Mahagony Jones of Penn State. Nineteen other women earned two First Team All-America awards each.

Splitting the top spot on the total First-Team awards list by team at 16 honorees each were team champion Texas A&M, runner-up Texas and fourth-place Florida. Third-place Oregon earned 12 First-Team awards. In terms of conferences, the SEC topped the list with 72 women honored. The Big 12 (39) and the Pac-12 (32) rounded out the top three women's conferences.



Bucknam Receives Sportsmanship Award


Gophers alum Kate Bucknam is one of four 2014-15 NCAA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Awards recipients.

Gophers Announce 2016 Track Schedule


The Gophers host the Minnesota-Wisconsin Dual on Jan. 23 to highlight the 2016 indoor season.

Gophers at the 2015 Minnesota State Fair


Meet your favorite Gopher student-athletes and coaches at the Great Minnesota Get-Together.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics