Gophers Claim Six Event Titles at LSU, Iowa
Todea-Kay Willis won the LSU long jump competition.

April 20, 2013

LSU Results Get Acrobat Reader | Iowa Results Get Acrobat Reader

At the LSU Alumni Gold Meet and Iowa Musco Twilight Meet, the University of Minnesota women’s track and field team took home six event titles and posted several top-10 all-time team performances.

In Baton Rouge, Todea-Kay Willis won the invitational long jump with a mark of 19-11 1/2 (6.08m). She beat out Alabama’s Callie Ives by 1 1/4 inches. Willis also ran the 100-meter dash, finishing eighth in 11.81 seconds.

The Gopher 4x400m relay team ran its fastest time of the season to finish fourth overall, and third among collegiate teams. Megan Geyen, Alena Brooks, Jessica Waldvogel and Te’Shon Adderley turned in a time of 3:39.56, the seventh-fastest in school history.

Three of the four relay team members also competed in open events. Brooks finished seventh overall, fourth among collegians, in the invitational 400m run in 54.14. Geyen was fourth in the other section in 55.34. Waldvogel finished fourth in the ‘B’ section of the 400m hurdles.

“I thought we competed well today,” Director of Track and Field/Cross Country Matt Bingle said. “I was glad to see the 4x4 improve their time. Overall, the team was in good spirits, but there’s still a lot to work on. We learned some things that we need to execute better.”

In Iowa City, the Gophers won five event titles. They also tallied several impressive personal records.

Kelsey Joson set a new personal record in winning the triple jump. Her mark of 39-10 3/4 (12.16m) ranks eighth in Minnesota history.

Laura Docherty ran a PR of 9:28.57 to win the 3,000m. Katie Moraczewski was runner-up.

Gopher runners claimed the top eight spots in the 1,500m. Becca Dyson (4:30.30) finished just ahead of teammates Missa Varpness, Ashlie Decker and Katie Hill. The first six Minnesota finishers posted their fastest times of the season.

Kelli Budd (10:37.77) and Kaila Urick (10:57.58) turned in a one-two finish in their steeplechase debut. Budd's time ranks eighth in Minnesota history.

Lyndsey Thorpe won the open hammer throw with a season-best toss of 170-2 (51.86m). Amy Kubat came in second.

Devin Stanford finished third in the invitational hammer competition with a PR of 185-9 (56.63m). She ranks seventh in Minnesota history.

Minnesota will be back on the track in the upcoming week, traveling to multiple meets including the famed Drake Relays.




Gophers Begin Outdoor Ranked No. 11

Gophers Begin Outdoor Ranked No. 11

3/20/2018 - W. Track & Field

Minnesota ranks 11th in the nation in the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I National Team Computer Preseason Rankings.

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Shay Nielsen

Warm-Up Lap: Q&A with Shay Nielsen

3/20/2018 - W. Track & Field

Get to know Gophers redshirt sophomore Shay Nielsen as Minnesota kicks off the outdoor season.

Gophers Enjoy Spring Break Training

Gophers Enjoy Spring Break Training

3/19/2018 - W. Track & Field

Members of the Gopher women's track & field team spent spring break training in Houston, Texas.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics