Gophers Win Eight Events, Recognize Seniors at Parents Day Open
Melissa Flucke, one of 22 seniors honored, won the high jump.

Feb. 16, 2013

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

The Golden Gopher women's track and field team won eight event titles and honored its seniors at the Parents Day Open on Saturday. It was Minnesota's final home meet of the season.

The Gophers’ distance medley relay team of Becca Dyson, senior Heather Brunn, Jamie Vandenberg and Kaitlin Mincke started the day by winning with a meet record time of 11:48.04.

Te’Shon Adderley won the 600 meters in 1:33.23. Madison Smith, last year's champion, finished second. Lauren Domski finished ahead of Anne Ferguson and Andie Zeman to win the 800 meters.

Cami Gilson finished third in the pole vault, but first among collegiate competitors. She is now tied for sixth all-time in school history after clearing 12-10 (3.91m).

Missa Varpness won the mile in 4:55.82 after making a late push to pass Ashlie Decker, who finished second. Gophers also dueled for first in the 1,000 meters. Kaitlin Mincke passed Jamie Vandenberg on the final lap to take the title.

In the field events, senior Melissa Flucke won the high jump with her second-best jump of the season, clearing 5-5 1/4 (1.66m). Christina DeLakis won the shot put. Bria Halama landed her second-best triple jump of the season (39-0 1/2) to finish first.

The track event schedule took a short break during the meet to recognize Minnesota's senior class. Each senior, accompanied by her parents if they were in attendance, received a plaque with her name and picture on it.

"It was nice to be able to take time to honor our seniors, and to have some of their parents here today," director of women's track/cross country Matt Bingle said. "Now we need to have a good week of practice to prepare for the Big Ten Championships next weekend."

Seniors Honored at the Meet
Emily Betz
Alexandra Brackenwagen
Alena Brooks
Heather Brunn
Caitlyn Dongoske
Rachel Edwards
Melissa Flucke
Becca Gusmer
Jeri Johnson-Chambers
Bri Jones
Kelsey Joson
Amy Kubat
Marie Muscala
Caitlin Olson
Paige Orcutt
Kylie Peterson
Kathryn Ritter
Toni Salvatore
Jessica Schmidt
Annie Talajkowski
Bre Valle
Todea-Kay Willis




Three More Gophers Earn NCAA Berths


Emerald Egwim, Taylor Wiebke, and Madeline Strandemo each punched their tickets to the NCAA Championship Friday at the NCAA West Prelim.

Ogunrinde Breaks Hammer Throw Record


Temi Ogunrinde and Angie Guenther secured NCAA Championship berths on day one of the NCAA West Prelim.

Three Gophers Earn CoSIDA Academic All-District


Luca Wieland earned Academic All-District accolades for the third year in a row while Madeline Strandemo and Derek Wiebke picked up their first career honors.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics