Gophers Win Twice on Opening Day
Paula Rincon Otero won by 6-1, 6-0 and 6-0, 6-1 scores Sunday.

Jan. 19, 2014

Final Stats

MINNEAPOLIS – The Minnesota women’s tennis team got off to a strong start to its second season under head coach Chuck Merzbacher Sunday, posting two wins. The Gophers started the afternoon and the season by thumping Eastern Michigan, 6-1, before shutting out Northern Iowa, 7-0, to improve to 2-0.

With the day’s results, Minnesota is now 5-0 all-time against the Eagles and 4-0 against the Panthers.

The Gophers got off to a fast start in doubles against EMU when Natallia Pintusava and Julia Courter downed Mariya Toncheva and Maria Paula Ribero at No. 2, 6-2. Aria Lambert and Paula Rincon Otero clinched the team’s first point of the season with a 6-4 triumph at No. 3 and Tereza Brichacova and Jessika Mozia completed the doubles sweep after rallying for a 7-6 (3) tiebreaker win.

After taking the first point of the match, Minnesota had little troubled finishing off its first win of the season.

Courter and Rincon Otero dropped a combined two games in winning at the No. 4 and 6 positions, respectively. Mozia sealed the team victory and made it 4-0 with a 6-1, 6-2 win over Toncheva at No. 3. Lambert and Brichacova went on to make it 6-0 before Eastern Michigan’s Klara Supejova topped Pintusava for the Eagles’ lone point. 



Using the same doubles tandems as in the first match, Minnesota picked up where it left in the night match against Northern Iowa, winning 6-0 in No. 1 and 6-1 at Nos. 2 and 3. 

Every Gopher won in straight sets in singles and Minnesota dropped just nine games as a team. Brichacova and Pintusava both won by 6-0, 6-0 scores, while Lambert came out on top in her match by a score of 6-1, 6-0, and Rincon Otero won by a 6-0, 6-1 score. Mozia, who clinched the match, and Courter also earned their second wins of the day.

Play resumes for the Gophers next Sunday when they host border foes North Dakota and South Dakota State at the Baseline Tennis Center. The match against UND begins at 10 a.m. and the SDSU contest starts at 4 p.m.

January 19, 2014
Minneapolis, Minn. (Baseline Tennis Center)

1. Klara Supejova (EMU) def. Natallia Pintusava (MINN) 6-2, 6-4
2. Tereza Brichacova (MINN) def. Nino Mebuke (EMU) 6-2, 6-4
3. Jessika Mozia (MINN) def. Mariya Toncheva (EMU) 6-1, 6-2
4. Julia Courter (MINN) def. Daphne Friedrichs (EMU) 6-0, 6-1
5. Aria Lambert (MINN) def. Maria Paula Ribero (EMU) 6-1, 6-2
6. Paula Rincon Otero (MINN) def. Zsofia Biro (EMU) 6-1, 6-0
Order: 4, 6, 3, 5, 2, 1 

1. Tereza Brichacova/Jessika Mozia (MINN) def. Klara Supejova/Nino Mebuke (EMU) 7-6 (3)
2. Natallia Pintusava/Julia Courter (MINN) def. Mariya Toncheva/Maria Paula Ribero (EMU) 6-2
3. Aria Lambert/Paula Rincon Otero (MINN) def. Daphne Friedrichs/Zsofia Biro (EMU) 6-4
Order: 2, 3, 1

January 19, 2014
Minneapolis, Minn. (Baseline Tennis Center)

1. Tereza Brichacova (MINN) def. Erica Medlin (UNI) 6-0, 6-0
2. Natallia Pintusava (MINN) def. Jieke Stroobant (UNI) 6-0, 6-0
3. Jessika Mozia (MINN) def. Elvira Lopez (UNI) 6-1, 6-2
4. Julia Courter (MINN) def. Krissy Lankelma (UNI) 6-3, 6-1
5. Aria Lambert (MINN) def. Astrid Santos (UNI) 6-1, 6-0
6. Paula Rincon Otero (MINN) def. Jordyn Kearney (UNI) 6-0, 6-1
Order: 5, 1, 3, 2, 6, 4

1. Tereza Brichacova/Jessika Mozia (MINN) def. Erica Medlin/Jieke Stroobant (UNI) 6-0
2. Natallia Pintusava/Julia Courter (MINN) def. Astrid Santos/Krissy Lankelma (UNI) 6-1
3. Aria Lambert/Paula Rincon Otero (MINN) def. Elvira Lopez/Sydney Wolfe (UNI) 6-1
Order: 1, 2, 3


Gophers Hire Ward as Assistant Coach


The University of Minnesota women’s tennis program has added Brian Ward as an assistant coach, announced Monday by head coach Catrina Thompson.

Gopher Tennis To Take Part in Charity Event


Both current and former Minnesota women’s tennis players will be taking part in the 32nd annual Pine Tree Apple Tennis Classic Tournament

Meet Head Coach Catrina Thompson


Catrina Thompson sat down with to talk about her vision for Minnesota tennis, her journey to becoming a head coach and her twin sister who is also a Division I Head Coach.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics