Women's Swimming and Diving Announces Team Captains
Maggie Keefer will serve as one of the Gophers' four team captains in 2013-14.

May 9, 2013

University of Minnesota head men's and women's swimming and diving coach Kelly Kremer announced Thursday that Katie Anton, Erin Caflisch, Kiera Janzen and Maggie Keefer have been named team captains for the 2013-14 season.

The quartet helped the Gophers win their second-straight Big Ten Championship and post a top-10 finish at the NCAA Championships last season, and will lead an experienced group in 2013-14 that is set to include 13 returners from last year's NCAA roster.

Anton is coming off a sophomore season that saw her place eighth in the 200 backstroke at the Big Ten Championships and in which she helped raise $5,000 for Relay for Life. Anton was also named to the Academic All-Big Ten Team.

Caflisch was a four-time All-American and four-time Big Ten Champion as a member of the Gophers' 200 free, 400 free, 200 medley and 400 medley relay teams as a junior in 2012-13, and also earned a spot on the All-Big Ten First Team.

Janzen earned All-America accolades in the 500 free, 1650 free and as a member of the 800 free relay in her junior campaign and was named to the All-Big Ten Second Team after placing second at the league championships in the 200 free, 500 free, 1650 free and 800 free relay. Janzen also claimed 10 event titles over the course of the 2012-13 season.

Keefer put together the best season of her career as a junior last season, as she was named the Big Ten Diver of the Year, Big Ten Diver of the Championships and earned All-America First Team accolades in both 1-meter and 3-meter diving at the NCAA Championships. Keefer was the top scorer for Minnesota at the Big Ten Championships, as she was the Big Ten Champion in 1-meter and 3-meter and finished sixth in platform diving, which earned her a spot on the All-Big Ten First Team.





Gophers Receive CSCAA Scholar All-America Recognition


Both the men's and women's teams earned academic distinction from the coaches association.

Five Gophers Earn Academic All-America Honors


With five honorees named today, Minnesota now boasts a total of nine Academic All-Americans for the 2016-17 academic year.

Spirit Jacket Tradition Lives On


Kaia Grobe and Madison Preiss, the jacket's most recent recipients, embody Gopher team spirit.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics