Friday Preliminaries Complete
Tori Simenec.

Feb. 22, 2013

Final Results from Friday Preliminaries Get Acrobat Reader

Minnesota continued to be the team to beat on the third day of competition at the Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships in Minneapolis. The Gophers, in quest of a second straight conference title, entered the third day with a 92.5 point lead over Indiana. The Gophers sent 16 total swimmers to the evening session including 10 to the championship final. Indiana qualified 16 as well with eight going to the championship final while Penn State qualified 14 and nine to the championship final.

To open the morning session, Indiana's Dorina Szekeres clocked the top time in the 400 individual medley with a time of 4:10.98. Michigan's Courtney Beidler was second (4:11.16) and teammate Marni Oldershaw was third (4:13.66). Penn State's Gabi Shishkoff (4:13.82) and Chelsea Weedman (4:14.05) rounded out the top five.

Minnesota sophomore Becca Weiland shattered the Big Ten Championships record in the 100 butterfly, touching the wall in 51.91 with an NCAA automatic qualifying time. Ohio State's Shannon Draves was second in 52.8 followed by Penn State's Mackenzie Powers (52.80), Minnesota's Blake Zeiger (53.10) and Wisconsin's Rebecka Palm (53.11).

Penn State's Alyson Ackman set the pace in the 200 freestyle, qualifying first in 1:45.37. Indiana's Cynthia Pammett was next in 1:45.55 and Minnesota's Lauren Weis was third in 1:45.66. Purdue's Rhiannon Sheets was fourth in 1:45.97 and Indiana's Lindsay Vrooman was fifth in 1:46.14.

Three competitors went under a minute in the 100 breaststroke. Minnesota's Haley Spencer was first in 58.86 while Indiana's Ashley Specht was next in 59.49, both of which are NCAA automatic times. Michigan's Angie Chokran (59.80), Minnesota's Kierra Smith (1:00.30) and Indiana's Bronwyn Pasloski (1:00.63) finish the top five qualifiers.

Indiana's Brooklyn Snodgrass was the top qualifier in the 100 backstroke with an NCAA automatic time of 52.06. Penn State's Paige Whitmire was second (52.50), followed by Ohio State's Kelsey Moran (52.98), Indiana's Cynthia Pammett (53.22) and Indiana's Justine Ress (53.26). Defending champion Tess Behrens of Minnesota was sixth in 53.37.




Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

4/16/2018 - W. Swimming

Minnesota celebrated the 2017-18 season at its annual banquet to recognize the team's accomplishments as well as individual award winners.

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

4/3/2018 - W. Swimming

2017-18 saw the team earn individual championship titles, impressive dual record, numerous individual top times and new school record times.

Gophers Place 10th at NCAA Meet

Gophers Place 10th at NCAA Meet

3/17/2018 - W. Swimming

The Gophers' 10th place finish came with a total of 157 points, which is the second most in program history,

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics