Gopher Blog: B1G Session V
2014 100-yard Breaststroke Big Ten Champion, sophomore Kierra Smith

Feb. 21, 2014

The atmosphere has been rocking as the 2014 Women's Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships has continued here at Minnesota's home pool.

Prior to day three's finals, the Big Ten awarded student-athletes for top sportsmanship. For Minnesota, senior Hailey Szews was honored.

400 Medley Relay

Kicking of finals of day three the relay team of Tess Behrens, Kierra Smith, Becca Weiland, and Erin Caflisch combined for a time of 3:34.00 for third place and an `A' NCAA qualifying time behind Indiana and Penn State.

400 IM

Three Golden Gophers competed in the championship final of the 400 Individual Medley. Freshman Breanne Siwicki placed fifth with a time of 4:10.17. Minnesota's Samantha Harding (4:10.22) and Hailey Szews (4:13.39) followed for sixth and seventh place respectively.

100 Fly

Junior Becca Weiland took third place against tough competition in the 100 fly finishing with a time of 52.11. Tori Simenec finished fourth (52.63), and Devin Ste Marie captured seventh (53.58).

Blake Zeiger took thirteenth with a time of 53.40 in the consolation heat of the 100 Fly. She was seeded 16th after winning a swim-off against a Nebraska swimmer earlier today.



200 Free

Minnesota packed the championship final of the 200-yard freestyle with four different swimmers. Jessica Plant took second with a time of 1:45.22.  Captain Kiera Janzen claimed fifth place with a time of 1:45.99, followed by Lauren Votava in sixth and freshman Maddie Hoch in seventh.

100 Breast

Your 2014 Big Ten 100 Breast Champion is sophomore Kierra Smith. She took first place with a time of 59.80, breaking under a minute for the first time. She is going to be one to watch tomorrow during the 200 breaststroke, which is her better race.

Heidi Busack took home ninth, first in her heat, with a time of 1:01.41.

100 Back

Senior Tess Behrens finished her 100-yard backstroke with a time of 54.00 for seventh place.

Freshman Katelyn Holmquist competed in the consolation heat, swimming a 54.85 for thirteenth.

Three-Meter Diving

Three divers participated in the final three-meter competition. Last year's champion defended her title; Maggie Keefer took first with a top score of 386.75. Senior Sarah McCrady took fourth (328.35) and Katy Etterman followed for fifth (325.50).  

At the end of day three of four, Minnesota stands in first place place with 526 points.

The final day of the 2014 Women's Swimming and Diving Championships will begin with prelims of the 200 Back, 100 Free, 200 Breast, 200 Fly, Platform Diving, and 1,650 Free at 11:00 a.m.

Make sure to join us at the University Aquatic Center for the finals tomorrow, Saturday 21, at 6:30 p.m. for the conclusion of what has been a great week of swimming and diving.

Go Gophers!



Gopher Throwback: Erin Buck

4/26/2017 asked Gophers swimmers and divers to share memories of their early days in their sport.

Gophers Conclude Season with Banquet


Minnesota held its banquet on campus Saturday to celebrate the 2016-17 season's accomplishments.

Plummer Named NYAC Athlete of the Year


The 2016 Olympic medalist accepted the award from his club at a dinner last week.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics