Jean Freeman Invite Wraps Up
The Gophers had a strong performance Saturday night

Dec. 1, 2012

Complete Results

The No. 8 University of Minnesota swimming and diving team concluded the Jean Freeman Invite Saturday night at the University Aquatic Center. The Gophers had a very strong night of swimming and diving, winning 13 events on the night.

Minnesota’s women divers dominated on the 1 meter board, earning the one through five places. Maggie Keefer won the event with a mark of 318.65. Sarah McCrady, Katie Grunawalt, Jessica Ramberg and Katy Etterman followed in that order. They also had a great showing in 3 meter, each placing in the top five, lead by Keefer once again (326.40).


On the men’s side of diving, the Gophers earned the top four finishes. Mikey Ross led the group for the win with a mark of 361.90. In the proceeding order, Jordan Lesser, Dylan Zoe and Erik Larsen earned the two, three and four spots. In 1 meter, Ross also earned first place (374.55).

Minnesota’s men and women both won the 200 medley relay on the night. Tess Behrens, Emma Jackson, Christie Clarke and Heidi Busack made up the winning relay with a time of 1:46.77. Carl Newenhouse, Jared Anderson, Kyler Van Swol and Derek Toomey won the men’s relay at 1:30.51.

In the women’s 400 IM, freshman Kierra Smith won the event with a time of 4:22.01, while Tori Simenec earned the second place spot at 4:24.63. Smith also claimed first place honors in the 100 breast (1:03.09).

The men had complete control of the 400 IM, receiving the first though fifth spots. Logan Redondo lead the pack (4:10.40) followed closely behind by Garrett Larson, CJ Smith, Grant Alef and Rin Isobe.

Annalise Colton earned a victory for the Gophers in the 100 fly, touching the wall at 55.82. In the event, Minnesota claimed the two, three, four, five, six, seven, nine and 11 spots as well. For the men, Sandy Whitaker finished second and Drew Johnson came in third.

In the 200 free, Elizabeth Weitz beat out all others for first place with a time of 1:28.89. Lauren Weis came in second and Kiera Janzen third.

In the men’s 200 free, Sean Nesheim earned the victory, touching the wall at 1:40.67.  He led 14 other Gophers that finished in the top 17 of the event. In the 200 breast, Josh Hall claimed first place honors at 55.53.

To finish off the night, the Gopher men won the 800 free relay with a time of 6:53.46. The team was made up of Van Swol, Brandon Hatanaka, Toomey and Samuels. 




Gophers Add Pair of Transfers

Gophers Add Pair of Transfers

6/13/2018 - W. Swimming

Kelly Kremer announced the addition of transfers Katherine Wagner and Emily Cook to the Gophers' roster, Wednesday afternoon.

Maddy Olson Added to Gophers Swim and Dive Staff

Maddy Olson Added to Gophers Swim and Dive Staff

5/16/2018 - W. Swimming

Kelly Kremer has announced the hiring of Maddy Olson as Assistant Coach/Coordinator of Recruiting and Communication.

Going Pro: Beth Etterman

Going Pro: Beth Etterman

5/10/2018 - W. Swimming

University of Minnesota diver Beth Etterman is set to begin another chapter in her life.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics