Moulton and Walker Garner All-Big Ten Accolades
Tyler Walker posted the fourth highest batting average in the conference.

May 16, 2012

Big Ten Release

The Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday afternoon that sophomore pitcher Sara Moulton and freshman shortstop Tyler Walker were voted Third Team, All-Big Ten. It is the second time that Moulton has garnered a Big Ten postseason accolade while it is Walker’s first.

Moulton, who was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year and selected Second Team, All-Big Ten, showcased the league’s lowest earned run average on the season at 1.52 while also striking out 302 batters, which ranked second in the conference. The Eagan, Minn. native posted a 25-14 record in the circle and tossed 30 complete games with seven shutouts. The Gophers’ ace also hurled two no-hitters this season.

Walker came up big as a freshman with hoisting a .380 batting average, which ranks fourth in the league. The powerful leadoff batter also ranked second in runs scored (46), slugging percentage (.614) and home runs (nine). In conference games, the San Jose, Calif. native led all shortstops in batting average, hits and extra-base hits.

The duo helped the Golden Gophers acquire a 31-22 record on the year and post a plethora of historic numbers, including most team home runs in a season (53) and the team’s lowest ERA since 2004. Both also played a large role in assisting the Maroon and Gold go 9-5 against teams that qualified for a NCAA Regional, including two wins over Big Ten Champion Michigan.

Senior Dannie Skrove was also selected as Minnesota’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. It is the second-straight season that Skrove has received the honor that highlights a student-athlete from each program that exemplifies sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Honorees

First Team
C – Liz Watkins, Sr., IOWA
1B – Amanda Chidester, Sr. MICH
2B – Whitney Massey, Jr., WIS
SS – Megan Blank, Fr., IOWA
3B – Marisa Bast, So., NU
OF – Kylene Hopkins, Jr., MSU
OF – Kendall Grimm, Jr., WIS
UT – Sara Driesenga, Fr., MICH
DP – Shannon Cawley, Fr., IND
P – Kayla Massey, So., IOWA

Second Team*
C – Kasie Hatfield, So., PSU
1B – Adrienne Monka, Jr., NU
2B – Courtney Breault, Jr., NEB
SS – Emily Allard, Jr., NU
3B – Amanda Wagner, Jr., IND
OF – Bree Evans, Sr., MICH
OF – Nicole Sappingfield, So., MICH
OF – Brooke Thomason, Jr., NEB
UT – Amy Letourneau, Fr., NU
DP – Michelle Zoeller, So., IOWA
P – Pepper Gay, Jr., ILL
P – Ashley Hagemann, Sr., NEB
P – Cassandra Darrah, So., WIS

Third Team
C– Cassie Gogreve, Sr., IND
OF – Johnnie Dowling, Jr., IOWA
2B – Ashley Lane, Jr., MICH
P – Sara Moulton, So., MINN
SS – Tyler Walker, Fr., MINN
3B – Gabby Banda, Jr., NEB
UT – Tatum Edwards, So., NEB
SS – Alicia Herron, Sr., OSU
C – Shelby Pickett, Fr., OSU
1B – Ashley Courtney, Jr., PUR
DP – Karla Powell, Sr., WIS

Player of the Year: Amanda Chidester, MICH
Pitcher of the Year: HAYLIE WAGNER, MICH
Freshman of the Year: Haylie Wagner, MICH
Coach of the Year: Carol Hutchins, MICH

* - Additional honorees due to tie
CAPS indicate unanimous selection

Sportsmanship Honorees

Kelley Wedel, ILL; Amanda Wagner, IND; Katie Keim, IOWA; Caitlin Blanchard, MICH; Lori Padilla, MSU; Dannie Skrove; MINN; Ashley Guile, NEB; Mari Majam, NU; Megan Coletta, OSU; Danee Collett, PSU; Ashley Courtney, PUR; Stephanie Peace, WIS

Follow Gopher Softball:    




Gophers Fall To Washington in Regional Final, 5-2.

Gophers Fall To Washington in Regional Final, 5-2.

5/20/2018 - Softball

Minnesota softball could not hold off a late rally by No. 5/5 Washington, falling by a score of 5-2.

Gophers Survive and Advance to NCAA Regional Final

Gophers Survive and Advance to NCAA Regional Final

5/20/2018 - Softball

Behind a late spurring offense and the strong arm of junior Sydney Smith, Minnesota (41-16) advanced to Sunday's Regional Final.

Gophers Fall in NCAA Regional Opener to Texas, 2-1

Gophers Fall in NCAA Regional Opener to Texas, 2-1

5/18/2018 - Softball

Minnesota found themselves on the opposite side of a pitcher's duel before falling to Texas in the opening round of the NCAA Seattle Regional, 2-1.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics