Moulton, Richardson and Walker Earn First Team All-Big Ten
Sara Moulton earns All-Big Ten honors for the third time.

May 8, 2013

PARK RIDGE, ILL. - Minnesota's success on the softball field this season has resulted in three Gophers players earning All-Big Ten First Team honors, as announced by the conference office on Wednesday.

Junior right-handed pitcher Sara Moulton (Eagan, Minn./Eagan), sophomore shortstop Tyler Walker (San Jose, Calif./Valley Christian) and sophomore third baseman Kaitlyn Richardson (Phoenix, Ariz./Sandra Day O'Connor) all earned spots on the first team in voting by the conference's coaches. Moulton and Richardson were unanimous selections to the team.

It marks the first time since 2005 that the Gophers have had a First Team All-Big Ten honoree. In fact, the three first team selections for Minnesota this year matches the combined number of first-teamers the Gophers had between 2001 and 2012. The last first team selection for the Golden Gophers had been catcher Megan Higginbotham during 2005.

It's also the first time since 1988 that Minnesota has had three members of the All-Big Ten First Team. The Gophers' three honorees that season were pitcher Brenda Bixby, infielder Kathy Casull and outfielder Deb Lange.

Moulton earns All-Big Ten honors for the third consecutive year. She was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year and Second Team All-Big Ten during her first year with the Gophers, while earning Third Team All-Big Ten accolades during 2012.

Moulton becomes the first Gophers pitcher to earn First Team All-Big Ten since her current pitching coach, Piper (Marten) Ritter, earned the distinction during 2003. Moulton is 29-9 with a 1.59 earned run average and 260 strikeouts in 238.0 innings this season. She has made 39 starts for the Gophers, with 24 complete games and 11 shutouts, including two no-hitters and one combined no-hitter.

Walker, who was a third team selection last season, earns First Team All-Big Ten honors after batting .405 (66-for-163) with team-leading totals for hits, runs scored (49), doubles (15), triples (2) and home runs (11) during the regular season. She also ranks second with 29 runs batted in, a .724 slugging percentage, a .489 on base percentage and 20 stolen bases.

Walker has a team-leading 21 multiple-hit games, including five games with three hits, and has eight multiple RBI games this season. She has reached base in her past 31 games heading into this weekend's Big Ten Tournament.

Richardson earns All-Big Ten recognition for the first time after leading the conference and ranking 11th nationally with a .462 (61-for-132) batting average, while ranking second (fifth nationally) with a .583 on base percentage. Richardson leads the Gophers in those two categories, as well as for runs batted in (40) and walks (34). She ranks second on the team in runs scored (34), doubles (11) and home runs (10).

Richardson has 19 multiple-hit games, including five games with three hits, and she has 10 multiple RBI games, which includes five games with three RBI and three games with four RBI. She also had a 10-game hitting streak and a 30-game streak of reaching base safely during this season.

The Big Ten also released its 2013 Sportsmanship Award recipients for each school, and redshirt junior Kelsey Klucas (Aitkin, Minn./Aitkin) is the Gophers' honoree. Klucas has appeared in 28 games for the Gophers, all as a pinch runner, and she has scored six runs.

Interestingly, Minnesota did not have a player named to the Big Ten's All-Defensive Team despite the fact that the Gophers led the conference for the second year in a row with a .971 fielding percentage.

Minnesota (33-16) opens play at the Big Ten Tournament on Friday at 4:30 p.m. CT. The third-seeded Gophers will face the winner of Thursday's opening-round game between sixth-seeded Illinois and 11th-seeded Penn State.

First Team All-Big Ten *
Megan Blank, So., SS, IOWA
Caitlin Blanchard, Jr., 1B, MICH
Sara Driesenga, So., P, MICH
Ashley Lane, Sr., 2B, MICH
Sierra Lawrence, Fr., OF, MICH
Sierra Romero, Fr., SS, MICH (U)
Lauren Sweet, So., C, MICH
Kylene Hopkins, Sr., OF, MSU
Sara Moulton, Jr., P, MINN (U)
Kaitlyn Richardson, So., 3B, MINN (U)
Tyler Walker, So., SS, MINN
Tatum Edwards, Jr., P, NEB (U)
Taylor Edwards, Jr., C, NEB (U)
Amy Letourneau, So., UTIL, NU
Mari Majam, Jr., OF, NU
Cassidy Bell, Sr., OF, PSU
Andie Varsho, Jr., OF, PUR
Cassandra Darrah, Sr., P, WIS
Mary Massei, Jr., OF, WIS (U)
Whitney Massey, Sr., C, WIS

(U) Denotes unanimous selections 

Second Team All-Big Ten
Alex Booker, Jr., OF, ILL
Amanda Wagner, Sr., 3B, IND
Johnnie Dowling, Sr., OF, IOWA
Haylie Wagner, So., P, MICH
Jayme O'Bryant, Sr., 3B, MSU
Alicia Armstrong, Fr., SS, NEB
Jordan Bettiol, So., OF, NEB
Courtney Breault, Sr., DP, NEB
Emily Lockman, Fr., P, NEB
Brooke Thomason, Sr., OF, NEB
Marisa Bast, Jr., 3B, NU
Anna Edwards, So., SS, NU
Cammi Prantl, Fr., OF, OSU
Maia Monchek, Sr., OF, PUR
Kendall Grimm, Sr., OF, WIS
Meghan McIntosh, Sr., P, WIS

Player of the Year: Sierra Romero, Fr., SS, MICH
Pitcher of the Year: Tatum Edwards, Jr., NEB
Freshman of the Year: Sierra Romero, SS, MICH
Coach of the Year: Carol Hutchins, MICH

All-Defensive Team*
P - Kayla Massey, Jr., IOWA
C - Taylor Edwards, Jr., NEB
1B - Evelyn Carrillo, Jr., OSU
2B - Jami Schkade, So., ILL and Brianna LeBeau, Fr., NU
3B - Gabby Banda, Sr., NEB
SS - Alicia Armstrong, Fr., NEB
OF - Alex Booker, Jr., ILL
OF - Kylene Hopkins, Sr., MSU
OF - Cassidy Bell, Sr., PSU

* Additional honorees due to tie

Sportsmanship Award Honorees: Jenny Mychko, ILL; Meaghan Murphy, IND; Sam Valentine, IOWA;
Jaclyn Crummey, MICH; Ellie Stoffer, MSU; Kelsey Klucas, MINN; Mattie Fowler, NEB; Sammy Albanese,
NU; Melissa Rennie, OSU; Cassidy Bell, PSU; Ashley Courtney, PUR; Maria Van Abel, WIS.




Lindaman, Houlihan Homer in Sweep of Nebraska

Lindaman, Houlihan Homer in Sweep of Nebraska

4/22/2018 - Softball

A pair of two-run home runs by sophomore Kendyl Lindaman and junior Maddie Houlihan led Minnesota softball to a Big Ten sweep of Nebraska in front of a sold out Jane Sage Cowles Stadium.

Gophers Extend Home Winning Streak to 25 Games

Gophers Extend Home Winning Streak to 25 Games

4/21/2018 - Softball

There’s no place like home for Minnesota softball who extended their winning streak at Jane Sage Cowles Stadium to 25 games following a 6-0 victory over Nebraska Saturday afternoon....

Offense Leads Gophers Past Nebraska, 10-1

Offense Leads Gophers Past Nebraska, 10-1

4/20/2018 - Softball

The Gophers needed only five innings to take a series-opening win over Nebraska 10-1 in front of a sold out Jane Sage Cowles Stadium.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics