Gophers Host 2011 Banquet and Handout Team Awards
Sheridan Reiners

Dec. 15, 2011

The Minnesota women's soccer program announced the 2011 team awards on Sunday night at the team's annual banquet in the DQ Club Room at TCF Bank Stadium. Along with celebrating another successful season in Minnesota soccer, the Golden Gophers also honored the following players with individual awards as voted on by the team.

Freshman Taylor Uhl was voted as the Offensive MVP after having one of the best individual seasons in Gopher history. Uhl tallied 34 points (15 goals, four assists), which is the sixth most in a single season for a Minnesota player. The Eden Prairie, Minn. native also earned the Newcomer of the Year Award for her efforts this fall.

The team voted Marissa Price and Cat Parkhill as the 2011 Defensive MVPs. Price entered the season as the Gophers’ lone returner on the backline. Her experience was shown all season as she started every game and played at all three defensive positions. Parkhill started every game in goal and was the backbone to the Gophers’ defense. The redshirt-junior posted four shutouts this fall and had a 1.32 goal against average.

Senior Josie Solie was named the Midfield MVP after starting every match and helping the Gophers control play. The Mahtomedi, Minn. native notched three goals and one assist this season.

The Gophers selected sophomore MacKenzie Misel as the team’s Most Improved Player after transitioning to the backline this fall. Misel started all games for Minnesota and was the lone Gopher to play every minute of every game this year.

Junior Olivia Bagnall was tagged with the team’s Iron Woman Award for her work ethic and dedication to the team during practice and games. The midfielder started every match along with tallying one goal and dishing out four assists.

Freshmen Sheridan Reiners and Becca Roberts received the Spark Award for being the team’s top players off the bench. Reiners played in 17 matches and recorded one goal and two assists. Roberts flipped those stats as she had two goals and one assist on the season.

The final award handed out was the Best Teammate Award, which was given to Katie Roberts-Carlson. This award exemplifies what it means to put the team first and do whatever helps to make the group better. Roberts-Carlson served as a backup goalkeeper and appeared two games this fall.

2011 Offensive MVP: Taylor Uhl
2011 Defensive Co-MVPs: Marissa Price & Cat Parkhill
2011 Midfield MVP: Josie Solie
2011 Most Improved: MacKenzie Misel
2011 Iron Woman Award: Olivia Bagnall
2011 Spark Award: Sheridan Reiners & Becca Roberts
2011 Best Teammate Award: Katie Roberts-Carlson
2011 Newcomer of the Year: Taylor Uhl




Heslin, Peterson Named 2018 Captains

Heslin, Peterson Named 2018 Captains

12/8/2017 - W. Soccer

Head Coach Stefanie Golan announced that 2018 seniors Emily Heslin and Emily Peterson will lead the Maroon and Gold.

B1G Recognizes 95 Gophers For Academics

B1G Recognizes 95 Gophers For Academics

12/6/2017 - W. Soccer

Ninety-five University of Minnesota student-athletes have earned Academic All-Big Ten honors, announced Wednesday by the conference office.

Pair of Gophers Earn Regional Honors

Pair of Gophers Earn Regional Honors

11/29/2017 - W. Soccer

The United Soccer Coaches named a pair of University of Minnesota soccer players to the All-Midwest Region Teams yesterday.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics