Gopher Varsity Squad Set to Compete at Head of the Rock
The Gophers will take part in the Head of the Rock Sunday.

Oct. 12, 2012

Live Video | Lineups and Results.

The University of Minnesota varsity rowing team hits the road for the first time this fall when it takes part in the 27th annual Head of the Rock regatta Sunday in Rockford, Ill. The Golden Gophers will have a total of seven boats competing in three races during the event.

Racing begins on Rock River at 8:00 a.m., with the last event set to get underway at 4:00 p.m. Two pairs will be the first to compete for the Gophers at 8:55 a.m., followed by two Minnesota varsity 4+ boats at 11:10 a.m. Three varsity 8+ boats will conclude the day for the Maroon and Gold at 3:30 p.m.

A live video feed of the finish line will be available at, while the lineups and results can be accessed on

The event is organized by the Rockford YMCA's Rock River Valley Rowing Club and sanctioned by U.S. Rowing.

This year, 1,800 athletes have been invited to participate from more than 65 clubs and universities. For more information about this event, call Jane Johnson at 815-489-1210 or visit or

Head of the Rock Schedule and Lineups
8:55 a.m. - Open Women 2-
Open 2A
Cassie Drozynski, Rachel Sartor

Open 2B
Ali Haws, Tabitha Andelin

11:10 a.m. - Collegiate Women 4+
Varsity 4A (MacGuyver)

Cox: Rachael Rogers, Katherine Windsor, Kayla Thom, Lynn Hodnett, Ellen Hughes



Varsity 4B (Sartor)
Cox: Taylor Gainey, Jaime Friscia, Alexandria Voss, Erica Revering, Amy VanHeel

3:30 p.m. - Collegiate Women 8+
Varsity 8A (Maihem)

Cox: Emilie Sabourin, Ali Haws, Cassie Drozynski, Katherine Windsor, Rebecca Braak, Tabitha Andelin, Rachel Sartor, Lynn Hodnett, Ellen Hughes

Varsity 8B (Gary)
Cox: Rachael Rogers, Nicolette Marquardt, Katie Anderson, Kayla Thom, Elisabeth Bott, Chelsea Miller, Sarah Sobek, Jana Wisniewski, Sylvia Coleman

Varsity 8C (Cheryl)
Cox: Alyssa Chu-Tom, Jaime Friscia, Amy VanHeel, Haylee Davis, Jen Kohl, Anna Swanson, Mary Prior, Rosina Drury, Alexandria Voss



World Rowing U-23 Championships begin Wednesday


Anna Cruse and Team USA will compete at next week's 2017 World Rowing Under-23 Championships in Plovdiv, Bulgaria as entries were finalized this week.

Cruse is first Gopher to join U-23 National Team


2017 Minnesota grand and former Gopher rower Anna Cruse qualified for the World Championships in Bulgaria on Thursday

Gophers Place Seventh at Big Tens


Anna Greene and Rylie Wargo earned All-Big Ten recognition while the Gophers earned a pair of top-five finishes.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics