Minnesota Rowing Set for Big Ten Championships
Minnesota will compete at the Big Ten Championships Sunday, May 19.

Minnesota at B1G Championships
Date May 19, 2013
Time 8:00 a.m. CT
Location Indianapolis, Ind. / Eagle Creek Park
Championship Central Click Here
Championship Notes Minnesota Get Acrobat Reader | Big Ten Get Acrobat Reader
Live Results Click Here
Social Media Facebook | @Gopher_Rowing

May 17, 2013

The University of Minnesota rowing team heads to the 2013 Big Ten Championships on Sunday, May 19, in Indianapolis, Ind. The Golden Gophers will compete at Eagle Creek Park as the Indianapolis Rowing Center hosts the event. The  schedule of events for the Big Ten Championships are as follows (weather permitting):

8:00 a.m. CT    II Novice Eights
8:20 a.m. CT    I Novice Eights
8:40 a.m. CT    III Varsity Fours
9:00 a.m. CT    II Varsity Fours
9:20 a.m. CT    I Varsity Fours
9:40 a.m. CT    II Varsity Eights
10:00 a.m. CT    I Varsity Eights
11:00 a.m. CT    Awards Presentation

The 2013 Big Ten Championships features a seven-lane course that has been established to see who can sprint to the finish line first. The 2013 championship will be held in Indianapolis, Ind., for the third-straight year. Minnesota hosted the Big Ten Championships once, dating back to 2006 where it finished second overall.

The Big Ten Championship is based on a point system. Each team will earn points by its placing in an event. The First Varsity Eight will receive the most points. The winner of the 1V8 race will earn 63 points, followed by the second-place team with 52 points. The full breakdown of points is listed below:

Event      Points (From first to last)
1st Varsity Eight    63, 52, 45, 36, 27, 18, 9
2nd Varsity Eight          42, 36, 30, 24, 18, 12, 6
1st Varsity Four    21, 18, 15, 12, 9, 6, 3
2nd Varsity Four    14, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2
3rd Varsity Four    7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
1st Novice Eight    14, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2
2nd Novice Eight    7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

The Big Ten Network will broadcast the rowing championships on Sunday, May 26 at 4:00 p.m. CT. The 2013 season marks the sixth season of the Big Ten Network, broadcasting all conference championships and a variety of Big Ten sports.

Five Big Ten teams are ranked or receiving votes in the latest national poll, led by Ohio State's 1V8, which is ranked third and is receiving two first-place votes. Michigan is 13th, followed by No. 14 Wisconsin and No. 20 Minnesota. Michigan State is receiving two votes in the poll.

Minnesota's first varsity eight is seeded third overall for the Big Ten Championships on Sunday, which is the highest seed for the Gophers heading into the event. The second varsity eight and first novice eight earned the No. 4 seeds, the second varsity four and second novice eight are seeded fifth and the first varsity four and third varsity four earned the No. 6 seed.

The University of Minnesota rowing team placed fifth at the 2012 Big Ten Rowing Championships with 77 total team points at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. Molly Kalmoe and Ali Haws each earned spots on All-Big Ten teams, with Kalmoe garnering first team accolades and Haws being named to the second team. Also earning recognition was Sara Baldvins, who was Minnesota's recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. Michigan edged out Ohio State to win its fifth Big Ten title, winning in the first varsity eight and second varsity eight to finish with 147 points, which was two points ahead of the Buckeyes and 25 points ahead of third-place Wisconsin who finished with 122 points. Michigan State placed fourth with 80 team points. The second varsity eight and second varsity four squads were the top finishers on the day for the Gophers, as they each notched fourth-place finishes.  

Minnesota started competition in the Big Ten Championships back in  2001 when it became a varsity program. Minnesota won its first Big Ten Championship in 2007, winning four of six races to score 150 points. Michigan has the most Big Ten titles with five, followed by Michigan State and Ohio State with three and the Gophers and Wisconsin with one. Here's a breakdown of the Gopher team finishes:

Year    Big Ten Finish
2001     Sixth (18 points)
2002     Fifth  (78 points)
2003    Sixth (61 points)
2004    Fifth (78 points)
2005    Fifth (73 points)
2006    Second (121 points)
2007    First, Big Ten Champions (150 points)
2008    Fourth (104 points)
2009    Sixth (59 points)
2010    Fifth (66 points)
2011    Fifth (68 points)
2012    Fifth (77 points)

Dating back to its start in the conference Minnesota has had 10 event champions since 2001. Although the Gophers haven't won a First Varsity Eight, the Second Varsity Eight walked away with a title championship in 2007. It was the same year the Gophers won the national title in the 2V8 at the NCAA Championships in Tennessee. The Gophers have also won two events in the Varsity Four (2006 and 2007) and three in the Second Varsity Four (2006, 2007 and 2010). The Gophers' novice boats have flourished as well, winning three in the 1N8 (2004, 2005 and 2007), while another one in the 2N8 (2006).

The University of Minnesota's First Varsity Eight was twice named Big Ten Boat of the Week during the 2012-13 season. The Gophers' earned the first weekly award of the year on March 12 after posting victories against Kansas State, Oklahoma and Tulsa at the Oklahoma Invite. The boat's second award came on March 26 after defeating Tennessee by 13.5 seconds in a road dual in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Minnesota built momentum in its final tune-up before the 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships as the Gophers' First Varsity Eight defeated both No. 14 Wisconsin and Michigan State May 5 on Lake Mendota in Madison, Wis., to win the Burning Blade Trophy. The 1V8 posted a time of 6:34.4 to claim the victory, while the host Badgers followed in 6:36.5. The Spartans finished third with a time of 6:42.6. It was Minnesota's first victory over Wisconsin in the 1V8 since 2007.
The Gophers' 1V8 opened the 2012-13 spring season with four-straight wins in its first two events, winning three-straight against Kansas State, Oklahoma and Tulsa at the Oklahoma Invite and posting a convincing victory at Tennessee in a road dual.

The Golden Gophers announced that sophomore Rebecca Braak was named Minnesota rowing's Most Valuable Athlete at the team's annual team banquet on May 12. Ali Haws was awarded the Donna J Olson Unsung Hero Award, while Elisabeth Bott was named the Maroon and Gold's Most Improved Rower of the 2012-13 season. Lisa Weeks garnered Most Valuable Novice Rower accolades and fellow rookie Sophia Pulice was named Minnesota's Most Improved Novice Rower.

Head coach Wendy Davis announced captains for the 2013-14 season, with Chelsea Miller and Katherine Windsor set to take over the reins next year. Miller and Windsor are both members of the 1V8 this season as juniors.




Eight Gophers Earn Academic Honors from CRCA

Eight Gophers Earn Academic Honors from CRCA

6/5/2018 - W. Rowing

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced its selections for CRCA National Scholar-Athlete honors with eight Gophers achieving recognition.

161 Gophers Receive Academic All-Big Ten Honors

161 Gophers Receive Academic All-Big Ten Honors

5/30/2018 - W. Rowing

A total of 161 Minnesota student-athletes were honored by the Big Ten on the Academic All-Big Ten Team for spring and at-large sports.

Gophers Wrap Season Ranked No. 20

Gophers Wrap Season Ranked No. 20

5/18/2018 - W. Rowing

Minnesota finished 2018 as one of the top teams in the nation, 20th in the CRCA/US Rowing Coaches Poll.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics