Minnesota Rowing Places Fifth at Big Ten Championships
The Gophers finished fifth Sunday at the Big Ten Championships.

May 13, 2012

The University of Minnesota rowing team placed fifth Sunday afternoon at the 2012 Big Ten Rowing Championships with 77 total team points at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. Molly Kalmoe and Ali Haws each earned spots on All-Big Ten teams, with Kalmoe garnering first team accolades and Haws being named to the second team.

Also earning recognition at the event was Sara Baldvins, who was Minnesota's recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Michigan edged out Ohio State to win its fifth Big Ten title, winning the in the first varsity eight and second varsity eight to finish with 147 points, which was two points ahead of the Buckeyes and 25 points ahead of third-place Wisconsin who finished with 122 points. Michigan State placed fourth with 80 team points.

The second varsity eight and second varsity four squads were the top finishers on the day for the Gophers, as they each notched fourth-place finishes.

The 2V8 of coxswain Sara Baldvins, Kathryn Switalski, Christine Beauparlant, Kayla Thom, Tabitha Andelin, Caitlin Boon, Sarah Sobek, Maddy Bourgeois and Katie Anderson clocked in at 6:38.630 to claim the fourth spot, which was less than two seconds behind third-place Wisconsin, to tally 24 points towards the team total.



"Michigan and Ohio State kind of took off early, but then it was just a battle in the 2V8 for third place between us and Wisconsin," head coach Wendy Davis said. "It was just excellent racing and it was fun racing. We fought an excellent team, and it was interesting because, to Wisconsin's credit, they beat us again, but it was a totally different race from two weeks ago, which means we are about the same speed. Considering the fact that Wisconsin goes to the NCAAs every year, and we haven't been there since 2007, it just shows that we are figuring it out. And that is what I am excited about, because we are up there with these teams that are going every single year."

Coxswain Rachael Rogers, Chelsea Miller, Melissa Drezdzon, Alexandria Voss and Erica Revering finished in a time of 7:29.483 in the 2V4, just over two seconds behind third-place Wisconsin, to add eight points to the team score.

Minnesota's four addition boats all registered fifth-place finishes at the Championships, with the No. 18-ranked first varsity eight of coxswain Emilie Sabourin, Ellen Hughs, Kalmoe, Haws, Katherine Windsor, Lynn Hodnet, Rebecca Braak, Becky Kinchen and Rachel Sartor finishing in 6:39.881, behind No. 5 Michigan, No. 4 Ohio State, No. 9 Wisconsin and No. 14 Michigan State.

"I am really pleased with how our varsity eights performed today," head coach Wendy Davis said. "Certainly you want to do better than fifth place in your 1V8, but they had a real battle on their hands. At the halfway mark we were a length down on Indiana and they were able to come back and beat them. With Molly (Kalmoe) not being in the boat for practices, our start wasn't very good. We knew that we needed to be a second 1,000 meter crew and that is what we were. I'm just really proud of how we raced. It was a very, very gutsy race. All nine of them performed to their limit."

With a time of 7:20.724, the first varsity four struggled to a fifth-place finish. The squad of Jacqueline Stein, Leah Rogotzke, Nicolette Marquardt, Jaime Friscia and Katherine Moran clocked in less than a second behind the fourth-place Spartans, while Ohio State won the event in 7:01.815.

In their first career Big Ten Championships action, the first and second novice eight teams also recorded fifth-place outings. The 1N8 of coxswain Danica Rog, Haylee Davis, Samantha Otterson, Anna Swanson, Kathleen Charley, Silvia Coleman, Kalee Kemmesat, Mary Prior and Shannon Boardway posted a time of 7:01.986, while the 2N8 of coxswain Paige Burgeson, Amy VanHeel, Ashley Fink, Eleanor Ludkey, Amanda Lueck, Sarah Schulte, Aleah Laughlin, Jana Wisniewski and Caitlyn Slawny notched a time of 7:09.659.

"Overall, it has been a great year," Davis said. "I think we are climbing back and I think we are getting faster. We are returning so many people from our top boats that I think this is going to be a great stepping-stone year. We are going to look back on this year next year and know that this was the turning point year for us."

1. Michigan (147)
2. Ohio State (145)
3. Wisconsin (122)
4. Michigan State (80)
5. Minnesota (77)
6. Indiana (44)
7. Iowa (29)

First Team
Asja Zero, Indiana; Annemarie Bernhard, Iowa; Julia Darnton, Michigan; Emily Eiffert, Michigan; Felice Mueller, Michigan; Amanda McGeachie, Michigan State; Molly Kalmoe, Minnesota; Ulrike Denker, Ohio State; Emily Walsh, Ohio State; Vanessa Kleiss, Wisconsin

Second Team
Cara Donley, Indiana; Katy Kroll, Iowa; Lindsey Healy, Michigan; Melisa Ongun, Michigan; Michelle Neuder, Michigan State; Ali Haws, Minnesota; Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State; Ilse Paulis, Ohio State; Kate Mansfield, Wisconsin; Amy Slesar, Wisconsin

Asja Zero, Indiana; Sarah Radke, Iowa; Kate Grimaldi, Michigan; Jocelyn Smith, Michigan State; Sara Baldvins, Minnesota; Katie King, Ohio State; Jane Roberts, Wisconsin


Follow Gopher Rowing:    


Catching up with Lauren Miller

Catching up with Lauren Miller

4/20/2018 - W. Rowing

GopherSports.com caught up with Lauren Miller to look back on her career, look forward to her post-competition days, and the end of the spring season.

Gophers Finish Tenth at Clemson Invite

Gophers Finish Tenth at Clemson Invite

4/14/2018 - W. Rowing

The Gopher Rowing team wrapped up its stay at the Clemson Invitational on Lake Hartwell on Saturday.

Gophers Compete on Day One at Clemson

Gophers Compete on Day One at Clemson

4/13/2018 - W. Rowing

The Gopher Rowing team began its stay in the thick of the pack at the Clemson Invitational on Lake Hartwell on Friday.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics