Gophers Conclude Competition at San Diego Crew Classic
The 1N8 competed for the Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy.

April 7, 2013

The University of Minnesota rowing team's First Novice Eight boat finished sixth in the race for the Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy Sunday afternoon at the 40th San Diego Crew Classic on picturesque Mission Bay in San Diego, Calif.

The 1N8 of coxswain Breanna Ten Eyck, Sophie Pulice, Kylie Andersen, Brianna Boileau, Jessica Flakne, Sara Scarbro, Jocelyn Perry, Heidi Dotzenroth and Lisa Weeks clocked a time of 7:10.91 in the Grand Final, which was an improvement of over three seconds from Saturday. Washington won the trophy with a time of 6:54.80.  

The Gophers' First Novice Eight finished second to California, who won the event in 7:02.91, in Heat A Saturday morning with a time of 7:14.34 to advance to the Grand Final, while coming in ahead of USC, Orange Coast College, San Diego State A, Sacramento State and San Diego State B in the first heat.

Minnesota's Second Novice Eight competed in Heat C on the opening day of the event, posting a time of 7:31.47 to finish fifth.  

The Gophers will be back in action April 13 when it opens the Big Ten season at Iowa.

San Diego Crew Classic Results:
Sunday, April 7
Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy
Washington - 6:54.80
Cal - 6:54.96
UCLA - 7:05.98
Virginia - 7:08.06
Kansas State - 7:10.14
Minnesota A - 7:10.91

Saturday, April 6
Women's Collegiate Novice A
Cal - 7:02.91
Minnesota A - 7:14.34
USC - 7:19.10
OCC - 7:33.45
SDSU A - 7:33.84
Sac State B - 7:41.31
SDSU B - 7:56.49

Women's Collegiate Novice C
Washington - 6:57.70
Virginia - 7:15.78
Texas A - 7:26.66
Sac State B - 7:29.83
Minnesota B - 7:31.47



Lineups for the San Diego Crew Classic are below:

1N: Breanna Ten Eyck (cox), Sophie Pulice (str), Kylie Andersen, Brianna Boileau, Jessica Flakne, Sara Scarbro, Jocelyn Perry, Heidi Dotzenroth, Lisa Weeks (bow)

2N: Samantha Mocarski (cox), Kjerstin Meyer (str), Kersten Schwanz, Madison Koch, Ellie Averkamp, Barbie Still, Abbey Kroll, Hillary Hercules, Maddie Augustin (bow)



Rowing Earns 11 CRCA Scholar-Athlete Nods


11 members of the Minnesota rowing team were recognized by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) with scholar-athlete awards

Gophers Earn Academic Big Ten Honors


The Gophers totaled 283 Academic All-Big Ten honorees for the 2015-16 academic year.

Minnesota Wraps Up Big Ten Championships


Minnesota wrapped up Big Ten Championships Sunday after being held off the water due to weather Saturday.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics