Frozen Four to Return to Ridder Arena
The Gophers won the 2013 Frozen Four at Ridder Arena.

Dec. 11, 2013

NCAA Championships Site Selections | About Ridder Arena

MINNEAPOLIS - The University of Minnesota will host the 2015 and 2018 NCAA Women's Frozen Fours at Ridder Arena, the NCAA announced via a webcast at Wednesday afternoon.

The announcement came as the NCAA unveiled the largest host site announcement in history, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle (2014-18). In total, 1,984 bid applications were submitted and 523 total championship event sites were awarded across all three divisions.

"We have had incredible success hosting past women's hockey Frozen Fours," head coach Brad Frost said. "The University of Minnesota takes great pride in putting on a first class tournament for the teams and fans that are involved. This is a great honor for our University, and I am confident that these championships will be two more memorable, top notch events."

Ridder Arena (3,400) was one of four finalists to host the women's NCAA Frozen Four from 2015 to 2018, along with Family Arena in St. Charles, Mo., (hosted by Lindenwood/St. Louis Sports Commission); Whittemore Center Arena in Durham, N.H. (New Hampshire); and Ralph Englstad Arena in Grand Forks, N.D. (North Dakota).

The four championship sites announced today are as follows:
2015: Ridder Arena, Minneapolis, Minn.
2016: Whittemore Center Arena, Durham, N.H.
2017: Family Arena, St. Charles, Mo.
2018: Ridder Arena, Minneapolis, Minn.

"The University of Minnesota is proud to host the 2015 and 2018 NCAA Women's Frozen Fours," Minnesota Director of Athletics Norwood Teague said. "The sport of hockey is ingrained in the history and culture of the state of Minnesota, and we are ecstatic to once again be hosting the premier event in college women's hockey."

Ridder Arena previously hosted the NCAA Women's Frozen Four in 2010 and 2013. The arena was the first facility dedicated solely to college women's ice hockey. Ridder Arena also has served as the site for eight WCHA conference championships (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2013).

The 2014 NCAA Women's Frozen Four will be hosted by Quinnipiac University in Hamden, Conn., at High Point Solutions Arena at the TD Bank Sports Center, March 21-23, 2014.

The NCAA also announced that Ridder Arena will be the site of the 2015 NCAA Division III men's hockey championship. Hosted by the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA), the nation's top Division III men's teams will compete for a national title in Minneapolis as well. Ridder Arena was one of three venues in contention for the Division III championship, along with Herb Brooks Ice Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y. (Plattsburgh State/Olympic Regional Development Authority) and Utica Memorial Auditorium in Utica, N.Y. (Utica).





Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

5/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Join fellow Gophers fans in looking back at some of the most memorable moments of the 2017-18 season.

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/17/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The eight Gopher honorees represent six sports with men's gymnastics and women's hockey each having two representatives.

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

5/16/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The National Women's Hockey League announced its expansion to five teams with the acquisition of the Minnesota Whitecaps.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics