Halldorson Selected for
Laura Halldorson

June 12, 2014

"M" Club Hall of Fame announcement

MINNEAPOLIS - Former Gopher women's hockey coach Laura Halldorson has been selected for induction into the University of Minnesota "M" Club Hall of Fame. The "M" Club is one of the nation's oldest varsity letterwinner organizations.

"Everyone who earns a coveted 'M' as a varsity letterwinner at Minnesota has accomplished something exceptional," said George Adzick, director of the "M" Club. "Those who are being inducted into the 'M' Club Hall of Fame this year are joining an extraordinary group, those whose achievements surpassed exceptional and became an integral part of the history of Gopher Athletics."

Halldorson was the first coach in the history of Minnesota's varsity women's hockey program and remained at the helm of the program for the first 10 seasons, during which she posted an overall record of 278-67-22. She had an extremely successful run before stepping down after the 2007 season.

Halldorson led the Gophers to their first national title in the program's third year, winning the 2000 AWCHA National Championship and securing the first women's team national title for Minnesota in any sport. Halldorson coached the Gophers to two more national titles in 2004 and 2005.

During her 10 years as head coach, the team won nearly 80 percent of its games, and Halldorson and the Gophers reached the NCAA Frozen Fours eight times. For her efforts, Halldorson was also recognized as the National Coach of the Year three times.

Halldorson coached seven Patty Kazmaier Award Finalists, including the program's first winner of the prestigious award, Krissy Wendell. She also coached six future Olympians during her time with the Gophers.

Head coach Brad Frost served as an assistant coach under Halldorson and succeeded her at the helm of the program at the start of the 2007-08 season.

This year's "M" Club class will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame at a ceremony in the DQ Club Room at TCF Bank Stadium on Thursday, Oct. 9 starting at 6 p.m.

With the addition of 13 new inductees in this year's class, the "M" Club Hall of Fame now has 319 members representing student-athletes from 27 different varsity sports, as well as coaches and administrators.





Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

5/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Join fellow Gophers fans in looking back at some of the most memorable moments of the 2017-18 season.

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/17/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The eight Gopher honorees represent six sports with men's gymnastics and women's hockey each having two representatives.

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

5/16/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The National Women's Hockey League announced its expansion to five teams with the acquisition of the Minnesota Whitecaps.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics