Kessel Named U.S. Women's Player of the Year
Amanda Kessel

Amanda Kessel

May 29, 2013

USA Hockey Release

USA Hockey announced Wednesday morning that University of Minnesota women's hockey player Amanda Kessel is the recipient of the 2013 Bob Allen Women's Player of the Year. The annual award salutes the accomplishments of an outstanding American-born women's hockey player.

Kessel, who won the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, led the nation in scoring with 101 points (46g-55a) to become only the fourth player in NCAA history to reach the century mark in a season. The junior forward played in 37 games and averaged 2.66 points per game while also guiding the Gophers to back-to-back NCAA National Championships. The Madison, Wis. native battled nagging injuries all season but finished with 28 multi-point games. Midway through the year, Kessel became the 24th player in NCAA history to surpass 200 career points and only the ninth to do so in three seasons.

Kessel is the third Gopher to receive this honor as Minnesota's top two career scoring leaders Natalie Darwitz (2005) and Krissy Wendell (2001) are also recipients

On the international stage, the Gopher helped lead the U.S. Women's National Team to a gold medal at the International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship. At the IIHF Women's World Championship, she scored the game-winning goal in the goal-medal game to aid Team USA in securing its fourth goal medal in five world championships. She was named U.S. Player of the Game and earned recognition as one of the top three players of the tournament for Team USA.

Additional awards Kessel has garnered this season include: First Team All-American, USCHO Co-Player of the Year, First Team All-USCHO, WCHA Player of the Year, WCHA Scoring Champion, NCAA All-Tournament Team and WCHA All-Academic Team.

Kessel along with eight other current and former Gophers will be vying for spots on Team USA's 2014 Sochi Olympic Team come June 16 as they attend the weekend-long U.S. Women's National Team Selection Camp. The camp will be held at the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, N.Y.

USA Hockey will honor Kessel as well as other 2013 award recipients on June 5 at its annual Night of Tribute Awards Dinner at the Hotel Elegante in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Previous Bob Allen Women's Player of the Year Award Winners
2012       Kelli Stack - U.S. Women's National Team
2011       Meghan Duggan - U.S. Women's National Team/Univ. of Wisconsin 
2010       Jenny Potter - U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team 
2009       Jessie Vetter - U.S. Women's National Team/Univ. of Wisconsin 
2008       Caitlin Cahow - U.S. Women's National Team/Harvard Univ. 
2007       Julie Chu - U.S. Women's National Team/Harvard Univ. 
2006       Katie King - U.S. Olympic Women's Team 
2005       Natalie Darwitz - U.S. Women's National Team 
2004       Angela Ruggiero - U.S. Women's National Team
2003       Angela Ruggiero - Harvard University
2002       Sara DeCosta - U.S. Olympic Women's Team
2001       Krissy Wendell - U.S. Women's National Team
2000       Sara DeCosta - Providence College
1999       A.J. Mleczko  - Harvard University
1998       Karyn Bye - U.S. Olympic Women's Team
1997       Laurie Baker - U.S. Women's National Team
1996       Cammi Granato - U.S. Women's National Team
1995       Karyn Bye - U.S. Women's National Team
1994       Erin Whitten - U.S. Women's National Team




Leveille Reflects on Gophers Career


Amanda Leveille reflects on her Gopher career and looks ahead to what her future holds.

Gophers Invited to USA Training Camp


Two current Gophers and four alumni are among the 29 players invited to 2016 USA Hockey Women's National Team Off-Ice Training Camp.

Johnson Continues as U.S. U-18 Coach


USA Hockey selects Johnson to continue as U.S. U-18 head coach for 2016-17.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics