USA Hockey Hosts Patty Kaz Brunch
Sophomore Hannah Brandt
Sophomore Hannah Brandt

March 22, 2014

USA Hockey Release |

WALLINGFORD, Conn. – USA Hockey honored the 2014 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award finalists, including Minnesota sophomore Hannah Brandt, at its annual Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Ceremony and Brunch at the Oakdale Theatre in Wallingford, Conn., Saturday morning.

Jamie Lee Rattray, a senior forward at Clarkson University, was named the 2014 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner, after joining Brandt and Cornell junior forward Jillian Saulnier among the top-three finalists for this year's award.

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, in its 17th year, is presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey as part of the NCAA Women's Frozen Four weekend.

A 13-person committee comprised of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey selected the 2014 award recipient, and the independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

Brandt was named a finalist for the award for the second-straight season and advanced to the top three in 2014 after being a top-10 finalist in 2013. Junior Rachael Bona was among the top-10 finalists for this year's award as well.

Two Gophers have won the prestigious Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. Amanda Kessel became the second Golden Gopher all-time to win the award last season, and Krissy Wendell was Minnesota's first Patty Kaz winner in 2005.

Brandt and the Golden Gophers are set to take on Rattray and the Golden Knights in the national championship game to conclude the 2014 NCAA Women's Frozen Four. Minnesota (38-1-1) and Clarkson (30-5-5) face off at 2 p.m. CT Sunday at Quinnipiac's High Point Solutions Arena at the TD Sports Center in Hamden, Conn.





Frost, Potomak Preview Minnesota State


Head coach Brad Frost and freshman Sarah Potomak met with the media before this weekend's series at Minnesota State.

Gophers Add Six for 2016-17


Head coach Brad Frost has announced the addition of six Gophers for next season.

Weekend Rewind: Gophers Sweep Yale


Catch up on the coverage and reactions following Minnesota's series sweep over Yale at Ridder Arena.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics