President Invites Gophers to White House
Amanda Kessel helped the Gophers to a perfect 41-0-0 season

March 7, 2014

UPDATE: Watch the presentation with President Obama LIVE at 4pm CT by clicking HERE

MINNEAPOLIS – The University of Minnesota women's hockey team will cap off its perfect 2012-13 season with an invitation to meet United States President Barack Obama at the White House, Monday, March 10 in Washington, D.C. President Obama will recognize national championship teams in a formal ceremony Monday afternoon on the South Lawn.

Spanning from 2011 to 2013, the Golden Gophers compiled an unprecedented 62-game win streak, while they capped off a historic 41-0-0 record in 2013 with their second-straight national championship. In the 2012-13 perfect season, Minnesota became the first women's Division I team to finish a season unbeaten and only the second Division I college hockey team to do so. The Gophers defeated Boston University, 6-3, for the national championship on March 24, 2013 at Ridder Arena.

Minnesota was led by Amanda Kessel, who tallied 101 points her junior year and was named the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner, an honor given to the top player in Division I women's hockey. All three finalists for the award, in Kessel, Megan Bozek and Noora Raty, hailed from Minnesota, the first time an institution had swept the category.

Prior to the 2012-13 campaign, Minnesota won the program's fourth national championship in 2011-12 and first since 2005 as it began the back-to-back national championship journey.

Along with the Gophers, the President will host several other 2012-13 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Champions at the White House Monday. The following teams are expected to attend this event:

Duke University: Men’s Lacrosse
Indiana University: Men’s Soccer
Oklahoma State University: Men’s Cross Country
Princeton University: Fencing
Princeton University: Field Hockey
Stanford University: Women’s Tennis
University of Alabama: Men’s Golf
University of California, Irvine: Men’s Volleyball
University of Colorado, Boulder: Men’s Cross Country
University of Kansas: Women’s Outdoor Track and Field
University of Minnesota: Women’s Hockey
University of North Carolina: Women’s Lacrosse
University of North Carolina: Women’s Soccer
University of Oklahoma: Softball
University of Southern California: Men’s Water Polo
University of Southern California: Women’s Water Polo
University of Virginia: Men’s Tennis
West Virginia University: Rifle
Yale University: Men’s Hockey

The event will be open to the press and streamed live on

The Minnesota travel party will depart Sunday, March 9 from the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and return Monday evening to prepare for the 2014 NCAA Tournament.





Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

5/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Join fellow Gophers fans in looking back at some of the most memorable moments of the 2017-18 season.

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/17/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The eight Gopher honorees represent six sports with men's gymnastics and women's hockey each having two representatives.

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

5/16/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The National Women's Hockey League announced its expansion to five teams with the acquisition of the Minnesota Whitecaps.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics