Gophers Hoard WCHA Season Awards
Along with winning the WCHA Rookie of the Year, Hannah Brandt was named All-WCHA First Team and All-Rookie Team

March 7, 2013

WCHA Release

The University of Minnesota women's hockey hoarded nearly all the WCHA season awards Thursday night at the league banquet, which was held in the DQ Club Room at TCF Bank Stadium. Amanda Kessel, Megan Bozek and Hannah Brandt each garnered individual awards, while Golden Gopher head coach Brad Frost was named Coach of the Year. Seven Gophers were selected to an All-WCHA team, and three were listed on the All-Rookie team.

Kessel became the first Minnesota player since 2005 (Krissy Wendell) to be named the WCHA Player of the Year. The junior forward led the league in scoring with 75 points (34g-41a) in 25 conference games. The Madison, Wis. native, who was named a Patty Kazmaier Award Top-3 finalist earlier today, was also named All-WCHA First Team.

Bozek nabbed the WCHA Defensive Player of the Year honor at the banquet. The senior captain tallied 37 points (14g-23a) in 28 league contests and also received All-WCHA First Team honors for the second consecutive season. The Buffalo Grove, Ill. native, who was named a Patty Kazmaier Award Top-3 finalist this morning, is the first Gopher to receive this accolade since Anne Schleper acquired it in 2010.

Brandt, who was tagged the Preseason Rookie of the Year, didn't disappoint as she claimed the Rookie of the Year honor. The freshman from Vadnais Heights, Minn. was second to only Kessel in league scoring as she recorded 56 points (18g-38a). She was also named to the All-WCHA First Team and All-Rookie Team.

Senior Noora Raty joins Brandt, Bozek and Kessel as an All-WCHA First Team selection. The Finnish goaltender finished the season as the WCHA Goaltending Champion going 27-0-0 with a goals against average of 1.05 and a save percentage of .950. Räty is only the third player in Minnesota history to receive three All-WCHA First Team honors during her career.

Frost rounded out the individual awards at the banquet with being named WCHA Coach of the Year. It is the third time he has received this honor in his six years at the helm.

The Gophers also had three players named to the All-WCHA Third Team in junior Kelly Terry, senior Mira Jalsouo and sophomore Rachel Ramsey. Terry and Ramsey each tallied over 20 points in league games, while Jalosuo just missed the mark with 19.

Joining Brandt on the All-Rookie team are fellow freshmen Maryanne Menefee and Milica McMillen. Menefee was second in scoring for freshmen with 25 points (11g-14a), while McMillen was tied for fifth with 14 points (8g-4a).

WCHA Player of the Year: Amanda Kessel, Jr., F, Minnesota
WCHA Outstanding Student Athlete of the Year: Jocelyne Lamoureux, Sr., F, North Dakota
WCHA Defensive Player of the Year: Megan Bozek, Sr., D, Minnesota
WCHA Rookie of the Year: Hannah Brandt, Fr., F, Minnesota
WCHA Scoring Champion: Amanda Kessel, Jr., F, Minnesota
WCHA Goaltending Champion: Noora Räty, Sr., Minnesota
WCHA Coach of the Year: Brad Frost, Minnesota

All-WCHA First Team
Forwards - Amanda Kessel, Jr., Minnesota, (34-41-75); Brianna Decker, Sr., Wisconsin (20-18-38); Hannah Brandt, Fr., Minnesota (18-38-56)
Defensemen - Megan Bozek, Sr., Minnesota (14-23-37); Monique Lamoureux, Sr., North Dakota (17-27-44)
Goaltender- Noora Räty, Sr., Minnesota (27-0-0, 1.05 GAA, .950 Sv%). 

All-WCHA Second Team
Forwards - Jocelyne Lamoureux, Sr., North Dakota (22-32-54); Michelle Karvinen, Jr., North Dakota (14-21-35); Jenna McParland, So., Minnesota Duluth (10-15-25)
Defensemen - Brigette Lacquette, So., Minnesota Duluth (5-14-19); Jessica Wong, Sr., Minnesota Duluth (7-1522)
Goaltender - Alex Rigsby, Jr., Wisconsin (17-9-2, 1.60 GAA, .940 Sv%).

All-WCHA Third Team
Forward - Lauren Smith, Sr., Minnesota State (17-9-26); Josefine Jakobsen, So., North Dakota (11-15-26); Kelly Terry, Jr., Minnesota (5-19-24)
Defense - Mira Jalosuo, Sr., Minnesota (L6-13-19); Rachel Ramsey, So., Minnesota (8-15-23)
Goaltender - Kayla Black, Fr., Minnesota Duluth (12-12-2, 2.37 GAA, .916 Sv%). 

All-WCHA Rookie Team
Forward - Hannah Brandt, Fr., Minnesota (18-38-56); Maryanne Menefee, Fr., Minnesota (11-14-25); Meghan Dufault, Fr., North Dakota (12-12-24)
Defense - Milica McMillen, Fr., Minnesota (8-6-14); Courtney Burke, Fr., Wisconsin (3-14-17)
Goaltender - Kayla Black, Fr., Minnesota Duluth (12-12-2, 2.37 GAA, .916 Sv%).




Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

5/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Join fellow Gophers fans in looking back at some of the most memorable moments of the 2017-18 season.

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/17/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The eight Gopher honorees represent six sports with men's gymnastics and women's hockey each having two representatives.

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

5/16/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The National Women's Hockey League announced its expansion to five teams with the acquisition of the Minnesota Whitecaps.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics