WCHA Awards: Minnesota, Hats Off to Thee
WCHA Defensive Player of the Year Rachel Ramsey

March 6, 2014

WCHA Release | Photo Gallery

BEMIDJI, Minn. – For the second consecutive season, the Golden Gopher women's hockey team brought home hardware from the Western Collegiate Hockey Association's annual postseason awards ceremony, held in Bemidji, Minn., in conjunction with the WCHA Final Face-off tournament championship Friday evening.

Minnesota, the WCHA regular season champion, took home all four major individual awards and placed four students-athletes on the All-WCHA First Team. The Gophers had players who were named WCHA Player of the Year, WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year, WCHA Defensive Player of the Year and WCHA Rookie of the Year.

Just a few hours after being named a top-three finalist for the 2014 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, sophomore Hannah Brandt was named the WCHA Player of the Year. Brandt, the league leader in assists and total points and the conference's scoring champion, recorded 40 points (14 goals, 26 assists) in 28 conference games. She was the only repeat member of the All-WCHA First Team as well.

Senior Kelly Terry was honored as the WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year. A forward who scored over 30 points in each of her four seasons at Minnesota, Terry is a biology major and intends to go to medical school in hopes of becoming a doctor. She is a four-time University of Minnesota Scholar-Athlete, a three-time All-WCHA Academic Team honoree and a two-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete. Terry also joined Brandt in receiving All-WCHA First Team honors.

The league's head coaches named junior Rachel Ramsey the WCHA Defensive Player of the Year. Ramsey had 30 points (six goals, 24 assists) in league play to lead the WCHA blue-liners in scoring this season. Ramsey joined fellow Gopher defenseman Milica McMillen on the All-WCHA First Team, as McMillen recorded 26 points (eight goals, 18 assists) in league play this season.

Gophers freshman forward Dani Cameranesi led the way among the rookie award winners, honored as the WCHA Rookie of the Year and named to the All-WCHA Rookie Team. The top scoring freshman in the WCHA this season, Cameranesi posted 24 points (14g-10a) in league games.

Three Gophers were named to the All-WCHA Second Team as well. Patty Kazmaier Award top-10 finalist Rachael Bona, who recorded 38 points (15 goals, 23 assists) in league games. Seniors Sarah Davis joined her line-mate on the All-WCHA Second Team after recording 36 points on 15 goals and 21 assists. Sophomore Amanda Leveille, who was 26-1-1 in conference play, had a 1.03 goals-against average and a .953 save percentage, was named the All-WCHA Second Team goaltender.

Head coach Brad Frost was named the WCHA Coach of the Year Award after leading the Gophers to a 26-1-1 conference record and the WCHA regular season title. Minnesota enters the 2014 WCHA Final Face-off on a 22-game unbeaten streak (21-0-1) and is 83-1-1 since Feb. 18, 2012. This year's award marks the fourth time Frost has been named the league’s coach of the year, with his first honor coming in 2007-08 and the second in 2008-09 when he was co-coach of the year (with Wisconsin’s Mark Johnson). He also won the award last season when his team had the only perfect season in women’s college hockey history.

Conference member-team head coaches, assistant coaches and team captains vote for the WCHA individual award winners. The WCHA Defensive Player of the Year Award is chosen by the head coaches, while the WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year is selected by the institutional faculty representatives.

2013-14 WCHA Women’s Award Winners

WCHA Player of the Year: Hannah Brandt, F, So., Minnesota
WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year: Kelly Terry, F, Sr., Minnesota
WCHA Defensive Player of the Year: Rachel Ramsey, D, Jr., Minnesota
WCHA Rookie of the Year: Dani Cameranesi, F, Fr., Minnesota
WCHA Scoring Champion: Hannah Brandt, F, So., Minnesota
WCHA Goaltending Champion: Ann-Renée Desbiens, G, Fr., Wisconsin
WCHA Coach of the Year: Brad Frost, Minnesota

All-WCHA First Team
Forwards: Hannah Brandt, So., Minnesota; Kelly Terry, Sr., Minnesota; Michelle Karvinen, Sr., North Dakota
Defensemen: Rachel Ramsey, Jr., Minnesota; Milica McMillen, So., Minnesota
Goaltender: Alex Rigsby, Sr., Wisconsin

All-WCHA Second Team
Forwards: Brittany Ammerman, Sr., Wisconsin; Sarah Davis, Sr., Minnesota; Rachael Bona, Jr., Minnesota
Defensemen: Courtney Burke, So., Wisconsin; Kari Schmitt, Jr., Ohio State
Goaltender: Amanda Leveille, So., Minnesota

All-WCHA Third Team
Forwards: Josefine Jakobsen, Jr., North Dakota; Jenna McParland, Jr., Minnesota Duluth; Blayre Turnbull, Jr., Wisconsin
Defensemen: Sara Schmitt, Jr., Ohio State; Lara Stalder, Fr., Minnesota Duluth
Goaltender: Danielle Butters, Sr., Minnesota State

All-WCHA Rookie Team
Forwards: Dani Cameranesi, Fr., Minnesota; Sarah Nurse, Fr., Wisconsin; Susanna Tapani, Fr., North Dakota
Defensemen: Lara Stalder, Fr., Minnesota Duluth; Gracen Hirschy, Fr., North Dakota
Goaltenders: Ann-Renée Desbiens, Wisconsin; Brittni Mowat, Fr., Bemidji State

Seven Gophers were named to the WCHA All-Academic Team as the WCHA also announced that 91 student-athletes, representing all eight women’s member institutions, have earned WCHA All-Academic Team honors for 2013-14. Rachael Bona, Hannah Brandt, Bethany Brausen, Baylee Gillanders, Rachel Ramsey, Shyler Sletta and Kelly Terry were recognized for their achievements in the classroom.

To qualify for the WCHA All-Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at present institution, prior to the current academic year and have a GPA of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

The WCHA Final Face-off gets underway with two semifinal games on Friday. No. 2 seed Wisconsin (27-6-2) and No. 3 seed North Dakota (19-11-4) face off in the first game at 4:07 p.m. CT, followed by the top-seeded Gophers taking on No. 4 seed Minnesota Duluth (15-14-6) at 7:07 p.m. CT.

The semifinal winners meet in the WCHA Final Face-off championship game at 7:07 p.m. CT Saturday night. The winner earns the league’s automatic berth to the NCAA tournament.





Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

5/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Join fellow Gophers fans in looking back at some of the most memorable moments of the 2017-18 season.

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/17/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The eight Gopher honorees represent six sports with men's gymnastics and women's hockey each having two representatives.

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

5/16/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The National Women's Hockey League announced its expansion to five teams with the acquisition of the Minnesota Whitecaps.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics