Brandt Selected as Patty Kaz Top-3 Finalist
Hannah Brandt
March 5, 2015 | USA Hockey Release

MINNEAPOLIS - Junior forward Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights, Minn.) has been named a top-three finalist for the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, USA Hockey announced today.

Brandt joins Boston college junior forward Alex Carpenter and Boston University senior forward Marie-Philip Poulin to make up the top-three candidates for the top honor in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey.

"What can be said about Hannah that hasn't been said already?," head coach Brad Frost said. "She is humble and unselfish, both as a person and a hockey player.

"Hannah makes players around her better each and every time she is on the ice. Her vision, play-making ability and finish set her apart. Many players are elite in certain areas - Hannah is elite in all areas. She cares deeply for people and is a person all young girls should strive to be like."

Brandt ranked second in the nation in both points (67) and goals (31) and was third in assists (36), while leading the country in plus/minus (+65), heading into the 2015 postseason. This season, she became only the seventh Gopher and 25th NCAA player to ever surpass 200 career points. A three-time Patty Kaz finalist, Brandt was also named the 2015 WCHA Player of the Year and 2015 WCHA Scoring Champion.

Off the ice, Brandt, a Health and Wellness major, has been involved with Hope Kids, the University of Minnesota Masonic Children's Hospital, Windom Area Youth Hockey and Special Olympics Minnesota and has volunteered with Gophers Strike Out Cancer, Feed My Starving Children, the Maplewood Care Center, andvarious local youth hockey associations, during her Gopher career.



Minnesota senior defenseman Rachel Ramsey (Chanhassen, Minn.) and sophomore forward Dani Cameranesi (Plymouth, Minn.) were among the top-10 finalists for the 2015 award as well. Brandt is the lone repeat honoree this year as she was a top-three finalist last season and a top-10 finalist in 2013. Six schools were represented inthe top-10 finalists, led by Minnesota and Boston College with three representatives each.

The three finalists, including the recipient of the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, were then chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey, the national governing body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States. The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

Amanda Kessel became the second Golden Gopher all-time to win the prestigious Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award when she took home the award in 2013. Krissy Wendell was Minnesota's first Patty Kaz winner in 2005.

Minnesota has had two Patty Kazmaier award winners in Amanda Kessel (2013) and Krissy Wendell (2005). Sixteen Gophers have been named finalists 27 times, including three-time finalists Noora Raty, Natalie Darwitz, Krissy Wendell and Brandt.

This year, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recipient will be unveiled at a brunch ceremony at the McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis, on Saturday, March 21, as part of the NCAA Women's Frozen Four weekend hosted by the University of Minnesota. Tickets can be purchased at

Earlier this week, it was announced that Karyn Bye Dietz has been named the keynote speaker for the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Ceremony and Brunch, and Jim Rich, the longtime sports director at KMSP/Fox 9-TV in Minneapolis, will serve as master of ceremonies for the event.

About the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

About Patty Kazmaier

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died on Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.



Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

Fans Share Favorite Moments of 2017-18

5/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Join fellow Gophers fans in looking back at some of the most memorable moments of the 2017-18 season.

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

Eight Gophers Earn Academic All-District Nods

5/17/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The eight Gopher honorees represent six sports with men's gymnastics and women's hockey each having two representatives.

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

Minnesota Whitecaps Join NWHL

5/16/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

The National Women's Hockey League announced its expansion to five teams with the acquisition of the Minnesota Whitecaps.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics