Five Future Gophers Tagged Semifinalists for Ms. Hockey Award
Kate Schipper

Feb. 3, 2013

Let's Play Hockey Release | Gophers' Ms. Hockey Winners

Five future University of Minnesota women's hockey players were named as semifinalist for Minnesota's Ms. Hockey Award. The list of 10 semifinalists highlights Dani Cameranesi (Blake), Kate Flug (Roseville Area), Paige Haley (Red Wing), Kate Schipper (Breck) and Megan Wolfe (Eagan).

Since 1996, Let's Play Hockey annually presents the Ms. Hockey Award to the top senior high school girls' hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Academics, community service, citizenship, coachability and on-ice performance prove to be the criteria for this prestigious award.  A total of 13 recipients have signed with the Gopher women's hockey team. Currently, there are three former award winners on the Maroon & Gold's roster: Hannah Brandt (2012), Bethany Brausen (2010) and Becky Kortum (2009).

The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 14 edition of Let's Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 24, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The award is sponsored by Let's Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor.

Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, which goes to the top senior goalie in girls' high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Association's Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2012-13 season.

Below is a list of the 10 semifinalist with stats and their college commitments.

Semifinalists Pos.   School GP   G       A      TP     College Commitment
Laura Bowman F Minnetonka 23 23 17 40 Penn State
Dani Cameranesi    F Blake 20 45 28 73 Minnesota
Kate Flug F Roseville Area   23 26 22 48 Minnesota
Kayla Gardner F Warroad 23 32 37 69 North Dakota
Paige Haley D Red Wing 23 17 37 54 Minnesota
Lisa Marvin F Warroad 23 24 46 70 North Dakota
Amy Menke F Shakopee 22 38 17 55 North Dakota
Sidney Morin D Minnetonka 18 4 14 18 Minnesota Duluth
Kate Schipper F Breck 20 20 25 45 Minnesota
Megan Wolfe F Eagan 18 23 17 40 Minnesota




World Championship to Begin Friday


Ten Gophers are set to represent their countries at the 2017 IIHF Women's World Championship starting this Friday.

Trio Earns All-USCHO Honors


Kelly Pannek, Lee Stecklein, and Sarah Potomak have been named All-USCHO honorees.

Gophers in the Pros: March 22


Catch up on the Golden Gopher women's hockey alumni playing in the NWHL and CWHL this season.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics