Bozek Receives Nomination for Hockey Humanitarian Award
Megan Bozek

Jan. 21, 2013

BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award

Senior captain Megan Bozek of the University of Minnesota women's hockey team has been listed as one of the 11 nominees for the 18th BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award. This annual award is given to one men's and women's hockey player at the Division I or III level who excels not only on the ice, but those that show exceptional personal character off the ice in the community.

Bozek, who is one of the highest scoring defenseman in the country this year, has been highly active in the community with volunteering at local schools, Feed My Starving Children and HopeKids. Over her four-year span at Minnesota, the Buffalo, Grove, Ill. native has accumulated over 200 hours of volunteering/community service.

The All-American defenseman, who has suited up with the U.S. Women's National Team the last two seasons,  is third on the Gopher squad in points with 37 (12g-25a). Earlier this season, she became only the fourth defenseman in Minnesota history to reach the 100-point career milestone. Now, Bozek sits second on that list and is just eight points away from matching school record holder Winny Brodt (134 points).

Finalists will be announced in February, and this year's recipient will be introduced and honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 12 in Pittsburgh as part of the 2013 Men's D-I Frozen Four weekend.  Below is a list of all 11 nominees.

Bozek and the Gophers are currently 24-0-0 on the year and are on an NCAA record 32-game winning streak, which is also tied with the NCAA unbeaten streak. They hit the road this weekend to face rival Wisconsin on Friday and Sunday with both games beginning at 2 p.m.

2013 Hockey Humanitarian Award Nominees
Jason Beattie, Senior, Niagara University
Brett Beebe, Senior, Western Michigan University
Megan Bozek, Senior, University of Minnesota
Cobina Delaney, Senior, Robert Morris University
Dan Evarts, Senior, St. Michael's College
Jordan Heywood, Junior, Merrimack College
Mike Johnson, Senior, University of Notre Dame
J. Tucker Mullin#, Senior, St. Anselm College
Kaare Odegard#, Senior, University of Alaska
Jeffrey Reppucci, Junior, College of the Holy Cross
Alyssa Zupon, Senior, Yale University

# repeat nominee




Alumni Spotlight: Rachel Ramsey

Alumni Spotlight: Rachel Ramsey

4/18/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Catch up with Gophers alum and three-time national champion Rachel Ramsey, a native of Chanhassen, Minn.

Gophers Earn WCHA Monthly Honors

Gophers Earn WCHA Monthly Honors

4/13/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Sidney Peters, Olivia Knowles, and Grace Zumwinkle have been honored as WCHA Players of the Month for March 2018.

Gophers Add Scobee for 2018-19

Gophers Add Scobee for 2018-19

4/12/2018 - W. Ice Hockey

Goaltender Sydney Scobee joins the Gophers as a junior after beginning her career at the University of Vermont.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics