Banham Earns WBCA All-America Honorable Mention Honors
Rachel Banham earned Minnesota's 14th All-America honor on Saturday.

April 6, 2013

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced its selections for the 2013 Division I Coaches All-America Team in a ceremony held at the New Orleans Arena during the 2013 NCAA® Women’s Final Four® Super Saturday festivities, and University of Minnesota sophomore guard Rachel Banham was named a WBCA All-America Honorable Mention honoree.

Banham is one of only four underclassmen to earn All-America accolades in 2013, and earns the 14th All-America accolade in program history, joining Janel McCarville (2004, 05), Lindsay Whalen (2002, 03, 04), Carol Ann Shudlick (1993, 94), Laura Coenen (1982, 85), Debbie Hunter (1982), Linda Roberts (1981), Laura Gardner (1979) and Elise Ohm (1978) as a Golden Gopher All-American.

A native of Lakeville, Minn., Banham was named WBCA All-Region 6 and First Team All-Big Ten this season by the league’s head coaches after claiming the Big Ten regular-season scoring title with her 21.0 points-per-game average. Banham is one of the top-two scoring sophomores in NCAA Division I and ranks 14th overall nationally with a 20.7 points per game average. The guard posted five games with 30 or more points and 16 games of 20 or more points on the year.

Banham surpassed numerous milestones and ascended Minnesota career and single-season record charts during her sophomore campaign. The guard became just the third sophomore Gopher to reach the 1,000-point milestone when she scored 37 points vs. Illinois on Jan. 28, and also surpassed former Gopher great Lindsay Whalen for the most points scored through a sophomore season with her 1,093rd-career point on Feb. 7 vs. Iowa.

With 1,243 career points, Banham ranks 14th all-time on Minnesota’s career record chart, and also ranks fourth in games in double figures (64) and 10th in three-point field goals made (110). Banham also ranks fourth on Minnesota’s single-season record chart with her 663 points scored in 2013.     

2013 WBCA Division Coaches’ All-America Team
Elena Delle Donne - University of Delaware
Skylar Diggins - Notre Dame University
Stefanie Dolson - University of Connecticut
Chelsea Grey - Duke University
Brittney Griner - Baylor University
Kayla McBride - University of Notre Dame
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis - University of Connecticut
Chiney Ogwumike - Stanford University
Odyssey Sims - Baylor University
Alyssa Thomas - University of Maryland
2013 WBCA Division I Coaches’ All-America Team Honorable Mentions
Natalie Achonwa - University of Notre Dame, Katie Baker - University of Montana, Rachel Banham - University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Alex Bentley - Penn State University, Kelsey Bone - Texas A&M University, Crystal Bradford - Central Michigan University, Gennifer Brandon - University of California – Berkeley, Layshia Clarendon - University of California – Berkeley, Tiffany Clarke - Vanderbilt University, Brittany Chambers - Kansas State University, Hallie Christofferson - Iowa State University, Courtney Clements - San Diego State University, Jerica Coley - Florida International University, Aaryn Ellenberg - University of Oklahoma, Angel Goodrich - University of Kansas, Bashaara Graves - University of Tennessee, Jasmine Hassell - University of Georgia, Tianna Hawkins - University of Maryland, Tayler Hill - Ohio State University, Jordan Hooper - University of Nebraska, Chelsea Hopkins - San Diego State University, Chucky Jeffery - University of Colorado, Maggie Lucas - Penn State University, Tyaunna Marshall - Georgia Institute of Technology, A’dia Mathies - University of Kentucky, Anna Martin - DePaul University, Keena Mays - Southern Methodist University, Nadirah McKenith - St. John’s University, Courtney Osborn - Miami University, Theresa Plaisance - Louisiana State University, Niveen Rasheed - Princeton University, Sugar Rodgers - Georgetown University, Ebony Rowe - Middle Tennessee State University, Tierra Ruffin-Pratt - University of North Carolina, Shoni Schimmel - University of Louisville, Chaundra Sewell - University of Wyoming, Naama Shafir - University of Toledo, Meighan Simmons - University of Tennessee, Andrea Smith - University of South Florida, Shennika Smith - St. John’s University, Elizabeth Williams - Duke University, Toni Young - Oklahoma State University





B1G Hoops Opponents Announced for 2018-19

B1G Hoops Opponents Announced for 2018-19

4/19/2018 - W. Basketball

The Minnesota men and women's basketball scheduling matchups were released on Thursday by the conference office.

Ski-U-Mah Weekly: Carlie Wagner

Ski-U-Mah Weekly: Carlie Wagner

4/17/2018 - W. Basketball

The newest member of the Minnesota Lynx, Carlie Wagner stops by Ski-U-Mah Weekly to chat with Justin Gaard. Presented by the Minnesota Lottery!

What They're Saying About Coach Whalen

What They're Saying About Coach Whalen

4/16/2018 - W. Basketball

Lindsay Whalen was announced as the 12th head coach in Gopher women's basketball history on April 12, 2018. Here's what is being said locally and nationally about Coach Whalen:

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics