Whalen Named Finalist for 2012 U.S. Olympic Women's Basketball Team
Lindsay Whalen is a finalist for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Women's Basketball Team.

Feb. 15, 2012

USA Basketball Release

Former Gopher and current Minnesota Lynx standout Lindsay Whalen was one of 21 USA Women's National Team members named as finalists for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Women's Basketball Team. The player selections were made by the USA Basketball Women's National Team Player Selection Committee.

Whalen finished her career at Minnesota with 2,285 points, which is currently the eighth best total in Big Ten Conference history. During her career, she was a two-time Wade Trophy Finalist (2004, 2003) and a two-time Naismith Award Finalist (2004, 2003).

As a senior, Whalen was named to the Kodak All-American First Team, made the USBWA All-American Second Team, USBWA All-American Second Team and AP All-American Second Team. She was the first Golden Gopher to earn All-American honors in three different seasons and led Minnesota to its first-ever Final Four appearance in 2004, one of three-straight NCAA Tournament appearances for Minnesota.

In the postseason, Whalen was named NCAA Mideast Region MVP for the 2004 NCAA Tournament and was a unanimous selection for All-Big Ten First Team in 2004, 2003 and 2002. She was also a three-time Academic All-Big Ten (2004, 2003, 2002) selection. As a junior, she was voted to the Kodak All-America First Team, USBWA All-America First Team and an AP All-America Second Team.

Whalen was selected in the first round of the 2004 WNBA Draft and has since had a successful career. In 2011, Whalen and the Minnesota Lynx won the WNBA Championship.

Whalen's jersey number 13 was retired by the University of Minnesota during a ceremony in January 2005 at Williams Arena.

The guard holds Minnesota career records in points, scoring average, games in double figures and free throws made. Whalen is also among the top ten in field goals made, field goal attempts, field goal percentage, three-pointers made, three-pointers attempted, three-point field goal percentage, free throws attempted, assists and steals. Whalen is the only four-time team MVP in school history.



The 21 finalists for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Women's Basketball Team include: Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars), Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Rebekkah Brunson (Minnesota Lynx), Swin Cash (Chicago Sky), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury), Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky), Brittney Griner (Baylor University), Lindsey Harding (Atlanta Dream), Asjha Jones (Connecticut Sun), Kara Lawson (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut Sun), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Candace Parker(Los Angeles Sparks), Cappie Pondexter (New York Liberty), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx) and Sophia Young (San Antonio Silver Stars).

2012 Olympic Games
Four-time defending Olympic gold medalists, the U.S. will look to capture its fifth straight and seventh overall gold medal and extend its 33-game Olympic winning streak at the 2012 Olympic Summer Games in London. The Olympic basketball competition will be held July 28-Aug. 12 in the Olympic Park Basketball Arena (preliminary round and quarterfinals) and North Greenwich Arena (semifinals and finals).

The draw to determine the two preliminary round pools of six teams each is scheduled to be held April 28 at the FIBA Central Board meeting in the Ivory Coast. The preliminary round, played July 28-Aug. 5, will feature a round-robin schedule and the top four finishing teams will advance to the Aug. 7 quarterfinals. The semifinals are scheduled for Aug. 9 and the finals will be played on Aug. 11.

Seven countries have claimed spots in the eventual 12-nation field, including host country Great Britain; the United States, which earned its berth by virtue of earning the gold medal at the 2010 FIBA World Championship; and five nations which earned the gold medal at their respective FIBA zone qualifying tournaments, including Angola (FIBA Africa), Australia (FIBA Oceania), Brazil (FIBA Americas), China (FIBA Asia) and Russia (FIBA Europe).

The final five teams will earn their spots at the 2012 FIBA World Olympic Qualifying Tournament (June 25 - July 1 in Ankara, Turkey), which will feature 12 nations from each of the five 2011 FIBA zone qualifying tournaments as follows: two from FIBA Africa, including Mali (bronze medalists) and Mozambique (fifth-place finisher); three from FIBA Americas, including Argentina (silver medal), Canada (bronze medalist) and Puerto Rico (fifth-place finisher); two from FIBA Asia, including South Korea (silver medalist) and Japan (bronze medalist); four from FIBA Europe, including Turkey (silver medalist), France (bronze medalist), Czech Republic (fourth place) and Croatia (fifth place); and New Zealand (silver medalist) from FIBA Oceania.



B1G Hoops Opponents Announced for 2018-19

B1G Hoops Opponents Announced for 2018-19

4/19/2018 - W. Basketball

The Minnesota men and women's basketball scheduling matchups were released on Thursday by the conference office.

Ski-U-Mah Weekly: Carlie Wagner

Ski-U-Mah Weekly: Carlie Wagner

4/17/2018 - W. Basketball

The newest member of the Minnesota Lynx, Carlie Wagner stops by Ski-U-Mah Weekly to chat with Justin Gaard. Presented by the Minnesota Lottery!

What They're Saying About Coach Whalen

What They're Saying About Coach Whalen

4/16/2018 - W. Basketball

Lindsay Whalen was announced as the 12th head coach in Gopher women's basketball history on April 12, 2018. Here's what is being said locally and nationally about Coach Whalen:

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics