University of Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics will hold the 11th-annual Golden Goldys, a student-athlete awards gala, at TCF Bank Stadium, Monday, May 1. For the seventh-straight year, the Golden Goldys and Scholar Athlete awards will be held in a joint event.

During the ceremony, the athletics department will recognize student-athletes and their athletic and academic accomplishments throughout the season. Athletic awards handed out include the male and female athlete of the year, the male and female rookie of the year, male and female breakthrough performances, men's team coach of the year and women's team coach of the year. The voting includes spring sports of 2016 (baseball, men's and women's golf, rowing, softball, men's and women's outdoor track & field and men's and women's tennis) and the fall and winter sports of the 2016-17 athletic year. New to the event this year, Gopher Athletics will announce its Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients.

Golden Goldy Winners:

Female Athlete of the Year
2016: Rachel Banham, Basketball
2015: Amanda Zahui B., Basketball
2014: Rachel Banham, Basketball
2013: Amanda Kessel, Hockey
2012: Megan Bozek, Hockey
2011: Kelci Bryant, Diving
2010: Kelci Bryant, Diving
2009: Gigi Marvin, Hockey
2008: Heather Dorniden, Track & Field
2007: Meredith Nelson, Volleyball

Male Athlete of the Year
2016: Luca Weiland, Track & Field
2015: David Cobb, Football
2014: Adam Wilcox, Hockey
2013: Tony Nelson, Wrestling
2012: Tony Nelson, Wrestling
2011: Michael Richards, Swimming & Diving
2010: Jayson Ness, Wrestling
2009: Eric Decker, Football & Baseball
2008: Jayson Ness, Wrestling
2007: Cole Konrad, Wrestling

Female Rookie of the Year
2016: Samantha Seliger-Swenson, Volleyball
2015: Sara Groenewegen, Softball
2014: Amanda Zahui B., Basketball
2013: Hannah Brandt, Hockey
2012: Rachel Banham, Basketball
2011: Amanda Kessel, Hockey
2010: Noora Raty, Hockey
2009: Monique Lamoureux, Hockey
2008: Jillian Tyler, Swimming & Diving
2007: Heather Dorniden, Track & Field

Male Rookie of the Year
2016: Justin Karstadt, Gymnastics
2015: Jose Mendez, Golf
2014: Wally Ellenson, Track & Field
2013: Adam Wilcox, Hockey
2012: Dylan Ness, Wrestling
2011: Derek Toomey, Swimming & Diving
2010: AJ Pettersen, Baseball
2009: Jordan Schroeder, Hockey
2008: Hassan Mead, Cross Country
2007: Kyle Okposo, Hockey

Women's Team of the Year
2016: Hockey
2015: Hockey
2014: Hockey
2013: Hockey
2012: Hockey
2011: Swimming & Diving
2010: Volleyball
2009: Soccer
2008: Rowing
2007: Track & Field

Men's Team of the Year
2016: Tennis
2015: Football
2014: Hockey
2013: Wrestling
2012: Wrestling
2011: Track & Field
2010: Track & Field
2009: Track & Field
2008: Golf
2007: Wrestling

Female Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
2016: Sam Macken, Softball
2015: Paige Tapp, Volleyball
2014: Rachael Bona, Hockey
2013: Katherine Harms, Volleyball
2012: Megan Bozek, Hockey
2011: Jessica Granquist, Volleyball
2010: Anne Schleper, Hockey
2009: Megan Duwell, Cross Country/Track & Field
2008: Leslie Knight, Basketball

Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
2016: KJ Maye, Football
2015: Maxx Williams, Football
2014: David Cobb, Football
2013: Andre Hollins, Basketball
2012: Nate Schmidt, Hockey
2011: Kent Patterson, Hockey
2010: Mike Thorn, Wrestling
2009: Ben Kuznia, Football
2008: Damian Johnson, Basketball

Women's Team Coach of the Year
2016: Hugh McCutcheon, Volleyball
2015: Brad Frost, Hockey
2014: Jessica Allister, Softball
2013: Brad Frost, Hockey
2012: Brad Frost, Hockey
2011: Kelly Kremer and Terry Nieszner, Swimming and Diving
2010: Mike Hebert, Volleyball
2009: Mikki Denney Wright, Soccer
2008: Wendy Davis, Rowing

Men's Team Coach of the Year
2016: Mike Burns, Gymnastics
2015: Jerry Kill, Football
2014: Don Lucia, Hockey
2013: J Robinson/Brandon Eggum, Wrestling
2012: J Robinson, Wrestling
2011: Steve Plasencia, Track & Field
2010: John Anderson, Baseball
2009: Tubby Smith, Basketball
2008: Tubby Smith, Basketball

Female Team Community Service Award 
2016: Cross Country/Track & Field
2015: Cross Country/Track & Field
2014: Soccer/Tennis
2013: Basketball
2012: Cross Country/Track & Field
2011: Track & Field
2010: Rowing
2009: Track & Field
2008: Track & Field
2007: Hockey

Male Team Community Service Award
2016: Swimming & Diving
2015: Tennis
2014: Swimming & Diving/Tennis
2013: Basketball
2012: Tennis
2011: Tennis
2010: Baseball
2009: Tennis
2008: Track & Field
2007: Hockey

Teammate of the Year
2016: Bob Swoverland
2015: Marty Bussman
2014: Jeff Keiser, Chris Lagasse, Michelle Traen
2013: Dr. Carly Anderson and Dr. Justin Anderson
2012: Joel and Lois Maturi
2011: Deborah Diamond, Marketing
2010: Jean Freeman, Former Women's Swimming and Diving Coach and U of M Hall of Fame President
2009: Cherie Carver, Radisson University
2008: Sue LaTendresse, Executive Administrative Specialist
2007: Alicia Jerome, Photographer

Past Golden Goldy Results:
Arrow 2014 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2013 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2012 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2011 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2010 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2009 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2008 Golden Goldys
Arrow 2007 Golden Goldys


SAAC Hosts Inaugural Diversity Dinner


On Monday, April 18, SAAC and the United States Marine Corps. hosted the first inaugural Diversity Dinner.

Gopher Global Travels to Winnipeg


Gopher Global embarked on its third trip in July, but first north of the border.

Gopher Global Visits Cheyenne River Reservation


On May 19, the M.A.G.I.C. bus and 10 student-athletes embarked on their second-annual Gopher Global trip.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics