Gopher Men Finish 16th at NCAA Championships
Hassan Mead finished 34th to earn his four career Al-American honor in cross country

Nov. 21, 2011

Final Team ResultsFinal Individual Results  

The 2011 Minnesota Cross Country season has come to end after today's NCAA National Championships. Coming in ranked No. 20 in the nation, the Gophers finished 16th today and were the third highest Big Ten team in the final standings. 

Hassan Mead was Minnesota's top finisher as he clocked in at 30:02.8, on the 10-kilometer LaVern Gibson Championships Course, in Terre Haute, Ind. His time was good for 34th overall as an individual and 25th in the team standings. With his 34th place finish, Mead picks up his fourth All-American accolade and he is the first runner in Minnesota history to earn an All-American status, all four years.

"I am very happy for Hassan with being named an All-American," Head Coach Steve Plasencia said. "Even though he would have liked to have finished higher up, he is a four time All-American and I couldn't be more proud of him."

Looking down the Gopher lineup, Pieter Gagnon finished with a time of 30:40 (81/60th place) and Andrew Larsen 30:51 (106/80th place) rounded out the top 100 finishers for team scoring.

Marcus Paulson 31:11 (148/116th place) and Steve Sulkin 31:47 (197/160th place) rounded out the top five finishers for Minnesota.

Erik Truedson 32:35 (245/207th place) and Paul Hilsen 32:53 (248/210th place) closed out the seven Gophers that raced at the NCAA Championships.

"Coming into the season we had a few question marks looking down the line with a couple injuries that hurt our depth a little bit," said Plasencia. "We had about six guys really step in and helped pull that wagon to help get this program back to the NCAA's. It was a good finish for us."

Wisconsin was the overall team champion, while Indiana took seventh. This year's Roy Griak Inviational winner Lawi Lalang, of Arizona, won the overall title as a true freshman with a time of 28:44. 




Three Gophers Post Top-25 Marks at Griak


Competing at Les Bolstad Golf Course, Charlie Lawrence, Obsa Ali and Derek Wiebke were among the top-25 while Minnesota totaled 135 points in fourth place.

2017 Griak Invitational Race Recaps


The Gophers are pleased to host the 32nd annual Roy Griak Invitational Saturday at Les Bolstad Course.

Updated Roy Griak Invitational Schedule


Due to anticipated high temperatures and heat index on Saturday, the University of Minnesota has adjusted the schedule for the 32nd annual Roy Griak Invitational.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics