Gopher Wrestling Weekend Results
Scott Schiller was defeated by Taylor Meeks from Oregon State on Saturday.

Nov. 4, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - The University of Minnesota wrestling team had an eventful weekend as the Golden Gophers had student-athletes that participated in two competitions over the weekend. 

Tony Nelson and Scott Schiller traveled to George Mason University in Fairfax, VA to participate in the 2013 NWCA All-Star Classic at the Patriot Center on Saturday evening.

Top-ranked Nelson was able to defeat Northwestern's Mike McMullan in a rematch of last year's NCAA finals match at heavyweight. Nelson earned a 2-1 tiebreaker victory. No. 2 at 197 pounds, Schiller was unable to defeat No. 1 Taylor Meeks of Oregon State where he dropped a 6-4 match to Meeks. 

Complete results from the 2013 NWCA All-Star Classic:

Showcase Match Results:
WFS 121: Helen Maroulis (USA) tech. fall Marcia Andrades (Venezuela), 8-0
WFS 211: Kyle Snyder (USA) tech. fall Yiannis Narlidis (Canada), 10-0
125: David Terao (American) dec. No. 1 (DIII) Chris Donaldson (Ursinus), 7-5 
149: Sahid Kargbo (George Mason) pinned Luke Bilyeu (West Chester), 5:33

Main Event Match Results:
125: No. 3 Nahshon Garrett (Cornell) dec. No. 5 Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma), 6-1 SV
133: No. 10 Mason Beckman (Lehigh) dec. No. 4 A.J. Schopp (Edinboro), 5-1
157: No. 10 Joey Napoli (Lehigh) dec. No. 13 Nestor Taffur (Boston U.), 2-1
184: No. 3 Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland) dec. No. 5 Jake Swartz (Boise State), 3-1 SV
197: No. 1 Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) dec. No. 2 Scott Schiller (Minnesota), 6-4 SV
285: No. 1 Tony Nelson (Minnesota) dec. No. 2 Mike McMullan (Northwestern), 2-1 TB
165: No. 1 David Taylor (Penn State) maj. dec. No. 4 Michael Moreno (Iowa State), 13-2
174: No. 1 Andrew Howe (Oklahoma) dec. No. 3 Matt Brown (Penn State), 4-3
141: No. 1 (at 133) Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. No. 3 Devin Carter (Virginia Tech), 5-3 SV
149: No. 1 (at 141) Logan Stieber (Ohio State) dec. No. 1 Kendric Maple (Oklahoma), 6-4 TB

On Sunday morning, a number of Gopher wrestlers traveled to compete at South Dakota State University in the Warren Williams/Daktronics Open.  Brett Pfarr, Jake Short, Michael Kroells, Chris Pfarr, Congrad Rangell, Nate Thomas and Josh Shupe all competed for the Gophers. 

Complete results from the 2013 Daktronics Open:


Open – 125
1st: Joshua Rodriguez (NDSU) won by decision over Tim Lambert (Nebraska) (Dec 3-1)
3rd: Barlow McGhee (Missouri) won by decision over Zach Synon (Missouri) (Dec 4-3)
5th: Shawn Nagel (Nebraska) won by fall over Anthony Bruno (Northern State University) (Fall 2:24)
7th: Isaac Andrade (SDSU) won by injury default over Tj North (Augustana) (Inj. 0:00)

Open – 133
1st: Matt Manley (Missouri) won by decision over Jordan Northrup (Northern Ill.) (Dec 3-0)
3rd: Ben Morgan (Nebraska) won by major decision over Justin Reinsma (SMSU) (Maj 14-4)
5th: Austin Roper (Missouri) won by decision over Nathaniel Thomas (Minnesota) (Dec 4-1)
7th: Cole Baumgartner (Missouri) won by decision over Brance Simms (SDSU) (Dec 5-0)

Open – 141
1st: Trevor Jauch (Missouri) won by decision over Anthony Abidin (Nebraska) (Dec 5-3)
3rd: Tony DeAngelo (Missouri) won by decision over Kevin Fanta (Northern Ill.) (Dec 11-6)
5th: Mitchell Bengtson (NDSU) won by injury default over Alex Bridgeford (Unattached) (Inj. 0:00)
7th: Jacob Anderson (Augustana) won by decision over Lavion Mayes (Missouri) (Dec 13-12)

Open – 149
1st: Drake Houdashelt (Missouri) won by decision over Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) (Dec 9-3)
3rd: Jake Short (Minnesota) won by decision over Alex Kocer (SDSU) (Dec 6-4)
5th: Blake Pepper (Missouri) won by forfeit over Shawn Hatlestad (Augustana) (FF)
7th: Tyler Weyer (NDSU) won by forfeit over Dalton Moran (SDSU) (FF)

Open – 157
1st: James Green (Nebraska) won by injury default over Kyle Bradley (Missouri) (Inj. 0:00)
3rd: Cody Pack (SDSU) won by decision over Joseph LaVallee (Missouri) (Dec 3-1)
5th: Andrew Morse (Northern Ill.) won by tech fall over Matt Lemanowicz (Missouri) (TF 16-0)
7th: Colin Holler (SDSU) won by decision over Codie Lane (SMSU) (Dec 10-7)

Open – 165
1st: Zach Toal (Missouri) won by major decision over Jordan Gagliano (Missouri) (Maj 15-3)
3rd: Joseph Brewster (SDSU) won by decision over Brandon Wilbourn (Nebraska) (Dec 3-1)
5th: Tim Miklus (Unattached) won by fall over Sam Bennett (Northern Ill.) (Fall 2:42)
7th: Sterling Terry (Midland) won by fall over Trace Engelkes (Northern Ill.) (Fall 1:16)

Open – 174
1st: Robert Kokesh (Nebraska) won by major decision over Mike England (Missouri) (Maj 13-3)
3rd: Cody Johnston (Missouri) won by fall over McCoy Newberg (Nebraska) (Fall 1:52)
5th: Michael Joseph (Minnesota State University-Moorhead) won by decision over Matt Mougin (Northern Ill.) (Dec 8-3)
7th: Parker VonEgidy (Missouri) won by forfeit over Tiger Paasch (Minot State University) (FF)

Open – 184
1st: John Eblen (Missouri) won by decision over Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) (Dec 5-1)
3rd: T.J. Dudley (Nebraska) won by decision over Aaron Studebaker (Nebraska) (Dec 9-4)
5th: Aero Amo (Augustana) won by forfeit over Bruce `Bj` Toal (Missouri) (FF)
7th: Sean Derry (Augustana) won by fall over Matt Seabold (SDSU) (Fall 6:19)

Open – 197
1st: J`Den Cox (Missouri) won by major decision over Shawn Scott (Northern Ill.) (Maj 14-4)
3rd: Spencer Johnson (Nebraska) won by decision over Willie Miklus (Missouri) (Dec 3-2)
5th: Tommy Petersen (NDSU) won by decision over Parker Settecase (Northern Ill.) (Dec 7-4)
7th: Bryce Fisher (Iowa Central CC) won by decision over Eugene Martin (Unattached) (Dec 5-2)

Open – 285
1st: Collin Jensen (Nebraska) won by decision over Devon Mellon (Missouri) (Dec 7-3)
3rd: Michael Kroells (Minnesota) won by decision over Cole Wilson (SMSU) (Dec 6-0)
5th: Jared Torrence (Northern Ill.) won by decision over J.j. Everard (SDSU) (Dec 8-3)
7th: Nyle Bartling (Nebraska) won by decision over Lonnie Brown (Midland) (Dec 8-1)

The Gophers will open the regular season this coming weekend at the Bison Open in Fargo, North Dakota. 




Alum Logan Storley Signs with Bellator


One of 10 four-time All-Americans in program history, Storley has emerged as one of the country’s hottest young MMA prospects since graduating from the U in 2015

Gophers Score Big in the Classroom


Whether measured by grade point averages, conference rankings or individual academic accolades, 2016-17 set a new academic standard for Gopher Wrestling

Bleise Becomes Newest Gopher


Two-time NCAA qualifier Steve Bleise will transfer from Northern Illinois and join the Gophers this fall

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics