Big Ten Announces Wrestling Championship Seeds
Tony Nelson is one of two Gophers who was awarded the top-seed in their respective weight class for the 2013 Big Ten Championships.

March 4, 2013

The Big Ten Conference has announced the preliminary seeds for the 2013 Big Ten Wrestling Championship Tournament, which is set to take place this weekend, March 9-10, and will be held at Assembly Hall on the campus of the University of Illinois. Minnesota is one of only four schools to boast a seeded wrestler in each of the 10 weight classes.

Logan Storley and Tony Nelson have each received the top spot at the 174 lbs. and heavyweight classes, respectively, after posting perfect dual records during the regular season. Three others, Nick Dardanes (141 lbs.), Dylan Ness (149 lbs.), Kevin Steinhaus (184 lbs.) and Scott Schiller (197 lbs.), were tabbed as the No. 2 pre-seed. Both David Thorn (125 lbs.) and Chris Dardanes (133 lbs.) were picked at No. 7. Cody Yohn was given the No. 5 seed at 165 lbs., while Danny Zilverberg is the No. 8 seed in the 157 lbs. division.

The pre-seeds are decided based on a vote by the conference coaches. Five weight classes feature the top eight of the league’s top wrestlers, while the remaining five feature 11 or 12 due to the conference receiving more than eight NCAA qualifier allocations in each of those classes.

For more information on the 2013 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, visit the Big Ten Championships Central page on Illinois’ web site. The complete list of Big Ten Championships pre-seeds can be found below.

2013 Big Ten Championships Pre-Seeds

125 lbs.

  1. Matt McDonough, IOWA
  2. Nico Megaludis, PSU
  3. Jesse Delgado, ILL
  4. Sean Boyle, MICH
  5. Nikko Triggas, OSU
  6. Camden Eppert, PUR
  7. David Thorn, MINN
  8. Dom Malone, NU

133 lbs.

  1. Logan Stieber, OSU
  2. Tony Ramos, IOWA
  3. Tyler Graff, WIS
  4. Jordan Conaway, PSU
  5. Daryl Thomas, ILL
  6. Cashe Quiroga, PUR
  7. Chris Dardanes, MINN
  8. Shawn Nagel, NEB

141 lbs.

  1. Hunter Stieber, OSU
  2. Nick Dardanes, MINN
  3. Mark Ballweg, IOWA
  4. Bryan Pearsall, PSU
  5. Brandon Nelsen, PUR
  6. Ridge Kiley, NEB
  7. Pat Greco, NU
  8. Camryn Jackson, MICH

149 lbs.

  1. Eric Grajales, MICH
  2. Dylan Ness, MINN
  3. Ivan Lopouchanski, PUR
  4. Jake Sueflohn, NEB
  5. Cam Tessari, OSU
  6. Andrew Alton, PSU
  7. Caleb Ervin, ILL
  8. Dan Osterman, MSU
  9. Josh Dziewa, Iowa
  10. Dylan Marriott, NU
  11. Preston Keiffer, IND

157 lbs.

  1. Derek St. John, IOWA
  2. Jason Welch, NU
  3. Dylan Alton, PSU
  4. James Green, NEB
  5. Taylor Walsh, IND
  6. Josh Demas, OSU
  7. Ryan Watts, MSU
  8. Danny Zilverberg, MINN

165 lbs.

  1. David Taylor, PSU
  2. Conrad Polz, ILL
  3. Taylor Massa, MICH
  4. Nick Moore, IOWA
  5. Cody Yohn, MINN
  6. Pierce Harger, NU
  7. Ryan LeBlanc, IND
  8. Austin Wilson, NEB
  9. Mark Martin, OSU
  10. Pat Robinson, PUR
  11. Frank Cousins, WIS
  12. Nick Proctor, MSU

174 lbs.

  1. Logan Storley, MINN
  2. Mike Evans, IOWA
  3. Robert Kokesh, NEB
  4. Nick Heflin, OSU
  5. Matt Brown, PSU
  6. Jordan Blanton, ILL
  7. Lee Munster, NU
  8. Dan Yates, MICH
  9. Scott Liegel, WIS
  10. Chad Welch, PUR
  11. Jordan Wohlfert, MSU
  12. Cheney Dale, IND

184 lbs.

  1. Ed Ruth, PSU
  2. Kevin Steinhaus, MINN
  3. Josh Ihnen, NEB
  4. John Rizqallah, MSU
  5. Ethen Lofthouse, IOWA
  6. Tony Dallago, ILL
  7. Luke Sheridan, IND
  8. Cody Magrum, OSU

197 lbs.

  1. Quentin Wright, PSU
  2. Scott Schiller, MINN
  3. Mario Gonzalez, ILL
  4. Andrew Campolattano, OSU
  5. Braden Atwood, PUR
  6. Nathan Burak, IOWA
  7. Jackson Hein, WIS
  8. Max Huntley, MICH
  9. Alex Polizzi, NU
  10. Luke Jones, MSU
  11. Caleb Kolb, NEB

285 lbs.

  1. Tony Nelson, MINN
  2. Mike McMullan, NU
  3. Connor Medbery, WIS
  4. Bobby Telford, IOWA
  5. Mike McClure, MSU
  6. Adam Chalfant, IND
  7. James Lawson, PSU
  8. Ben Apland, MICH
  9. Spencer Johnson, NEB
  10. Nick Tavanello, OSU
  11. Chris Lopez, ILL
  12. Alex White, PUR




Zillmer, Nelson Compete in World Team Trial Finals

Zillmer, Nelson Compete in World Team Trial Finals

5/20/2018 - Wrestling

There were two Minnesota wrestlers who battled in the best-of-three finals at the World Team Trials with Hayden Zillmer earning a Final X birth at 92-kilograms.

Two Minnesota Wrestlers Reach World Trial Finals

Two Minnesota Wrestlers Reach World Trial Finals

5/19/2018 - Wrestling

It was a day highlighted by the Minnesota heavyweights, but a total of eight Minnesota wrestlers took part in the senior level of the World Team Trials.

Steveson Earns Junior World Team Trials Final Bid

Steveson Earns Junior World Team Trials Final Bid

5/18/2018 - Wrestling

Two current and three incoming University of Minnesota wrestlers took part in the junior level of the World Team Trials on Friday.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics