Gophers Make History with Sweep of Bison Quad
Kevin Steinhaus tallied two major decisions and a pin today at the Bison Quad.

Nov. 24, 2012

The No. 1 Minnesota Wrestling program swept the Bison Quad today at the Bison Sports Arena in Fargo, N.D., to move to 6-0 on the year. The Gophers competed against Eastern Michigan, Itasca Community College and host team North Dakota State. With three wins on the day, head coach J Robinson became Minnesota Wrestling’s all-time winningest coach, boasting an overall record of 394-129-4 in 27 years with the program. Minnesota also surpassed 900 total program wins at the quadrangular meet, becoming only the sixth collegiate team in the nation to reach that mark.

Minnesota 36, Eastern Michigan 4

Minnesota started the day against Eastern Michigan and defeated the Eagles 36-4 to set the tone for the competition. At 125 lbs., David Thorn started the round strong with a 5-1 decision over Jared Germaine, but Eastern Michigan tied the team scores with a win in the next round at 133 lbs. The Gophers answered with a dominant eight-bout run to close out the dual. Among the highlights were a 3-1 sudden victory by Brad Dolezal in the 157 weight class and pins at 165 lbs. and 285 lbs. Cody Yohn earned his pin at the 4:51 mark in the second period, while Tony Nelson took Chris Eggert at 2:57 for six points to add to the team’s total.

125 – David Thorn won by decision over Jared Germaine, 5-1
133 – Vincent Pizzuto won by major decision over Jordan Kingsley, 12-2
141 – Nick Dardanes won by major decision over Mike Leholm, 14-5
149 – Seth Lange won by decision over Justin Melick, 7-0
157 – Brad Dolezal won in sudden victory over Aaron Sulzer, 3-1
165 – Cody Yohn won by pin over Jake Dorulla, 4:51
174 – Logan Storley won by major decision over Michael Curby, 18-6
184 – Kevin Steinhaus won by major decision over Phillip Joseph, 14-4
197 – Scott Schiller won by decision over Anthony Abro, 8-2
285 – Tony Nelson won by pin on Chris Egger, 2:57

Minnesota 22, North Dakota State 12

In the second round of the day, North Dakota State gave Minnesota its biggest challenge so far this season. The Bison stole four of the first six bouts before the Gophers ran away with victories in all four remaining weight classes to earn the comeback defeat, 22-12. Logan Storley, Kevin Steinhaus, and Scott Schiller posted major decisions over their respective Bison opponents to give the team a substantial cushion. Nelson capped off the win with a 5-1 decision over Evan Knutson.

125 – Trent Sprenkle won by decision over David Thorn, 4-3
133 – Joshua Rodriguez won by decision over Corey Hodowanic, 3-1
141 – Nick Dardanes won by major decision over Mark Erickson, 18-7
149 – Seth Lange won by decision over Joseph Garner, 10-7
157 – Hayden Zillmer won in sudden victory over Brad Dolezal, 6-4
165 – Stephen Monk won by decision over Cody Yohn, 1-0
174 – Logan Storley won by major decision over Kurtis Johnson, 11-2
184 – Kevin Steinhaus won by major decision over MacKain Stoll, 14-5
197 – Scott Schiller won by major decision over Kallen Kleinschmidt, 12-4
285 – Tony Nelson won by decision over Evan Knutson, 5-1

Minnesota 39, Itasca Community College 0

The Gophers wrapped up the day with a 39-0 routing of Itasca Community College. With four pins and one technical fall, the team dominated on the mat. Corey Hodowanic started the dual on a high note, forcing a 4:29 fall on Justin Valhuerdi. Nick Dardanes also tallied a pin in the next round at the 5:10 mark in the third period. Pat Smith and Alec Ortiz saw their first action of the season and earned a 1:05 pin and a 14-4 decision, respectively. Yohn rebounded from an earlier loss to NDSU with a 28-13 technical fall at 4:32 into the dual. Steinhaus cemented the Gopher victory, pinning Vernon Rash at 2:11.

125 – Double Forfeit
133 – Corey Hodowanic won by pin over Justin Valhuerdi, 4:29
141 – Nick Dardanes won by pin over Zach Matthys, 5:10
149 – Tom Giaimo won by injury default over Tom Gullickson. 0:21
157 – Pat Smith won by pin over David Booth, 1:05
165 – Alec Ortiz won by decision over Luke Copp, 14-4
174 – Cody Yohn won by tech fall over Matt Mason, 28-13 (4:32)
184 – Kevin Steinhaus won by pin over Vernon Rash, 2:11
197 – Double Forfeit
285 – Double Forfeit




Seven Gophers Will Enter Season Ranked


Seven Gophers will begin the 2017-18 season as top-20 wrestlers, with the team coming in at No. 6 in the dual meet rankings and No. 7 in the tournament rankings.

Meet Newcomer Steve Bleise


This week we meet with Steve Bleise, a redshirt junior from Chelsea, Mich. who was an All-State wrestler in high school.

Wrestling Welcomes Fans to Open Practice


Fans who are eager for wrestling season will have an opportunity to come have an early look at the 2017-18 Gopher wrestling team.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics