Nelson Wins Back-to-Back National Titles
Tony Nelson became the second heavyweight in Gopher history to win back-to-back national titles.

March 23, 2013

Photo Gallery 

Final Team Standings

Final Results

Final Brackets

Tony Nelson Press Conference

Tony Nelson is a two-time national champion. Capping off a great showing by the Gophers at the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships, Nelson defeated Northwestern's Mike McMullan on the platform by a score of 6-2 to win his second title in as many years. With a team total of 103 points, Minnesota finishes third in the team race. Penn State won its third straight title with 123.5 points.

Nelson becomes the fifth Gopher wrestler to win back-to-back titles and is only the second from the heavyweight class. The last person to do so was Cole Konrad in 2006 and 2007.

Nelson scored the early single-leg takedown in the first period and soared with momentum from there. Forcing McMullan into a position where he needed to score. Starting on bottom in the third, McMullan escaped to make it a one-point match at 3-2. McMullan nearly tied it up with a low ankle grab but Nelson defended nicely and followed with another takedown to put the match asleep. An addition point for riding time gave Nelson the 6-2 victory to capture the crown.

At the post-match press conference, Nelson credited his workout partner, Ben Berhow, and the past year of practice and competition at bigger national and international events, as reasons for his success.  

"Any extra wrestling you do, you're going to get better. Freestley has helped me on my feet a lot. Working with them a lot, I've just gotten better. As long as I'm continuing to work, I'm going to keep improving"

When asked how he feels to be in a class of Gopher greats with the chance of becoming Minnesota's first three-time national champion, Nelson beams admiration for those that came before him.

"Last year, even before, one of my goals was to be the first three-time for Minnesota. Cole Konrad, Brock Lesnar. Brock won it once; Cole won it twice. I'm right up there with him and he's a guy I always looked up to. To be there with him is a big accomplishment."

Nelson finishes the 2012-13 season with a 33-1 overall record, a Big Ten Championship, and his second national title.

Championship Results
125 - Jesse Delgado (ILL) won by decision over Nicholas Megaludis (PSU), 7-4
133 - Logan Stieber (OSU) won by decision over Tony Ramos (IOWA), 7-4
141 - Kendric Maple (OKLA) won by decision over Mitchell Port (EDIN) , 4-3
149 - Jordan Oliver (OK ST) won by decision over Jason Chamberlain (BOISE), 3-2
157 - Derek St. John (IOWA) won by decision over Jason Welch (NW), 3-2
165 - Kyle Dake (CORN) won by decision over David Taylor (PSU), 5-4
174 - Chris Perry (OK ST) won in tiebreaker over Matt Brown (PSU), 2-1
184 - Ed Ruth (PSU) won by major decision over Robert Hamlin (LEHIGH), 12-4
197 - Quentin Wright (PSU) won by decision over Dustin Kilgore (KENT), 8-6
285 - Tony Nelson (MINN) won by decision over Mike McMullan (NW), 6-2




Seven Gophers Will Enter Season Ranked


Seven Gophers will begin the 2017-18 season as top-20 wrestlers, with the team coming in at No. 6 in the dual meet rankings and No. 7 in the tournament rankings.

Meet Newcomer Steve Bleise


This week we meet with Steve Bleise, a redshirt junior from Chelsea, Mich. who was an All-State wrestler in high school.

Wrestling Welcomes Fans to Open Practice


Fans who are eager for wrestling season will have an opportunity to come have an early look at the 2017-18 Gopher wrestling team.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics