Nelson to Defend Title in Heavyweight Championship
Tony Nelson will wrestle for the heavyweight title tomorrow night, potentially earning his second crown in as many years.

March 22, 2013

Photo Gallery 

Session IV - Team Standings

Session IV - Updated Brackets

Session IV - Agate

Tony Nelson has done it again, advancing to the NCAA Championship final for the second year in a row in the heavyweight bracket. With help from a nicely-executed third-period takedown, Nelson defeated Oklahoma State’s Alen Gelogaev by a score of 5-4 to advance.

“Coming in as the defending champ; all those guys against you, they wrestle different.” Nelson said at the post-match press conference. “They want to keep things close and they want to be the guy to beat you. Going out there, to do this again and be back in the finals is just fun. I'm excited to see what I can do tomorrow night.”

The championship match will be a repeat of the 2013 Big Ten title match as Mike McMullan (Northwestern) upset the No. 1 seeded Dom Bradley (Missouri) in the other semifinal bout. Nelson and McMullan will meet tomorrow night in a battle for the crown.

“I wrestled him in the Big 10 finals and wrestled him last year. I won't change things up, just do the things I do and try and go out there and win.”

The Golden Gophers still sit in third place, totaling 86 team points. Sitting eight points ahead is Oklahoma State with 94. Penn State has kept its commanding lead with 114.5 team points. Behind Minnesota is Iowa in fourth with 68 points and Cornell in fifth with 51.

Logan Storley narrowly missed out on his chance up on the platform, falling in the quarterfinals to Matt Brown. Storley managed to contain Brown, who has been dominating all tournament, to a tight score but couldn’t overcome a deficit to fall 3-2. He will move to the consolation bracket and look for a third-place finish.

Chris Dardanes, Dylan Ness, and Scott Schiller went 2-0 in the evening session to also remain in contention for a third-place finish. Dardanes ran through Central Michigan’s Scotti Sentes (SV; 11-9) and Oklahoma’s Cody Brewer (D; 10-5). Ness began the fourth session with a 5-3 victory over Jake Sueflohn of Nebraska and finished with a 12-5 match over Ivan Lopouchanski of Purdue. Schiller continued his reign at 197 lbs., taking down opponents he had met earlier in the season. First, he notched a 3-1 victory over Mario Gonzalez (Illinois) and then followed with a 5-2 topping of Blake Rosholt (Oklahoma State).

David Thorn, Nick Dardanes, and Cody Yohn all notched victories in their first bout of the session to earn All-American status, but fell in the second go around. They still remain in the competition and will compete in the seventh-place match of their respective brackets tomorrow morning.

At 184 lbs., Kevin Steinhaus missed out on his third All-American honor when he was knocked out of the competition at the hands of Maryland’s Jimmy Sheptock. Steinhaus slipped up on a shot and Sheptock caught him for the sudden victory.

Tomorrow mornings consolation (3rd, 5th and 7th place) matches will begin at 10 a.m. and will be broadcasted on ESPNU and ESPN3. The championship matches will be live on ESPN starting at 7 p.m.

2013 NCAA Division I Championships Results for Minnesota
Minnesota sits third with 68 team points

125 - David Thorn scored 0.50 team points + advancement
    Cons. Round 4 - David Thorn (MINN) won by decision over Dominic Parisi (AP ST), 9-2
    Cons. Round 5 - Jarrod Garnett (VT) won by fall over David Thorn (MINN), 3:55

133 - Chris Dardanes scored 1.00 team point + advancement
    Cons. Round 4 - Chris Dardanes (MINN) won in sudden victory over Scotti Sentes (CMU), 11-9
    Cons. Round 5 - Chris Dardanes (MINN) won by decision over Cody Brewer (OKLA), 10-5

141 - Nick Dardanes (29-9) scored 6.50 team points + advancement
    Cons. Round 4 - Nick Dardanes (MINN) won in tiebreaker over Michael Mangrum (OR ST), 5-3
    Cons. Round 5 - Michael Nevinger (CORN) won by decision over Nick Dardanes (MINN), 6-2

149 - Dylan Ness scored 1.00 team point + advancement
    Cons. Round 4 - Dylan Ness (MINN) won by decision over Jake Sueflohn (NEB), 5-3
    Cons. Round 5 - Dylan Ness (MINN) won by decision over Ivan Lopouchanski (PUR), 12-5

165 - Cody Yohn scored 0.50 team points + advancement
    Cons. Round 4 - Cody Yohn (MINN) won by decision over John Staudenmayer (UNC), 5-3
    Cons. Round 5 - Conrad Polz (ILL) won in tiebreaker over Cody Yohn (MINN), 2-1

174 - Logan Storley scored 0.00 team points + advancement
    Semifinal - Mathew Brown (PSU) won by decision over Logan Storley (MINN), 3-2

184 - Kevin Steinhaus scored 0.00 team points
    Cons. Round 4 - Jimmy Sheptock (MD) won in sudden victory over Kevin Steinhaus (MINN), 6-4

197 - Scott Schiller scored 1.00 team point + advancement
    Cons. Round 4 - Scott Schiller (MINN) won by decision over Mario Gonzalez (ILL), 3-1
    Cons. Round 5 - Scott Schiller (MINN) won by decision over Blake Rosholt (OK ST), 5-2

285 - Tony Nelson scored 1.00 team point + advancement
    Semifinal - Tony Nelson (MINN) won by decision over Alan Gelogaev (OK ST), 5-4




Through the Lens - Owen Webster

Through the Lens - Owen Webster

12/14/2017 - Wrestling

Owen Webster did not start his college wrestling career at the University of Minnesota, but now that he has arrived, he is setting new goals and doing everything he can to reach them.

Match of the Week - Dec. 13

Match of the Week - Dec. 13

11/21/2017 - Wrestling

Each week the Gophers sit down with a wrestler to discuss the best match of that week. Stay updated with each week with this Match of the Week page that will be updated all season long!

Coach's Corner With Brandon Eggum Dec. 12

Coach's Corner With Brandon Eggum Dec. 12

12/12/2017 - Wrestling

This past Sunday the University of Minnesota wrestling team earned their third dual victory of the season over Fresno State.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics