Nine Still Alive as Storley and Nelson Advance to Semifinals
Logan Storley is one step closer to reclaiming the No. 1 spot in the nation with his advancement to the semifinal round of the NCAA Championships.

March 22, 2013

Photo Gallery

Session III - Team Standings

Session III - Updated Brackets

Session III - Agate

Logan Storley (174 lbs.) and Tony Nelson (HWT) have advanced to the semifinals of the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa. Both will wrestle in tonight's semifinal showdown here at Wells Fargo Arena. In addition, seven other Gophers have avoided elimination to remain in the consolation contest. The nine total representatives are the most of any school at the national tournament as Iowa, Penn State, and Oklahoma State only boast seven.

In the team race, the Golden Gophers hold steady in third place with 47.5 total points. Penn State holds onto a commanding lead with 77.5 team points. Oklahoma State rides along in second place with 65.5 points. Iowa is in fourth with 39 points, while Missouri rounds out the top five with 38.5 points.

Storley earned his spot in the semifinals with a narrow 3-2 win over Big Ten rival Mike Evans. Storley, the No. 6 seed, defeated the No. 3-seeded Evans and will battle Penn State's Matt Brown tonight for a place in the championships  

No. 2 Nelson outlasted No. 10 Jarod Trice in another tight match. He edged the Central Michigan wrestler by a score of 1-0 to continue his quest for back-to-back titles. Next to tackle is Oklahoma State's Alen Gelogaev.

Along with the semifinalists, David Thorn, Chris Dardanes, Nick Dardanes, Dylan Ness, Cody Yohn, Kevin Steinhaus, and Scott Schiller will all have matches tonight.

C. Dardanes, Yohn, and Schiller, each fell in the quarterfinal matches to end their runs and move to the consolation bracket. Dardanes dropped an 11-7 decision to A.J. Schopp after Schopp ran ahead early and left Dardanes scrambling to catch up. No. 11 Yohn put up a fight against No. 3 Peter Yates, even taking him to the double tiebreaker before Yates scored a takedown in the final seconds. At 197 lbs., Penn State's Quentin Wright caught Schiller on his back for the fall at 2:49.

Thorn, N. Dardanes, Ness, and Steinhaus each went 2-0 on the day to stay alive in the wrestleback competition. Ness and Dardanes will face opponents they have already seen this year, Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) and Michael Mangrum (Oregon State), respectively. Thorn and Steinhaus will meet new faces in Appalachian State's Dominic Parisi and Maryland's Jimmy Sheptock.

Danny Zilverberg was the only Gopher to be eliminated from the competition. After notching a 6-0 decision over Missouri's Kyle Bradley, Zilverberg fell 6-4 to James Fleming (Clarion) to end his outstanding performance at the championships.  

Tonight's rounds will determine the tournaments All-Americans as the top eight finishers in each bracket will earn the honorable status.

Action will pick up again tonight at 6 p.m. CT with the semifinal bouts and two rounds of consolation. Fans will be able to follow through live video on ESPNU and live stats at Also be sure to follow along with the Dual Day Live Blog for insider details on the competition.

2013 NCAA Division I Championships Results - Session III
Minnesota sits in third with 47.5 team points

125 - David Thorn scored 5.00 team points.
    Cons. Round 2 - David Thorn (MINN) won by fall over William Watterson (BROWN), 5:32
    Cons. Round 3 - David Thorn (MINN) won by decision over Steve Bonanno (HOFS), 3-0

133 - Chris Dardanes scored 0.00 team points.
    Quarterfinal - A.J. Schopp (EDIN) won by decision over Chris Dardanes (MINN), 11-7

141 - Nick Dardanes scored 1.00 team point.
    Cons. Round 2 - Nick Dardanes (MINN) won by decision over Daniel Neff (LOCKH), 8-3
    Cons. Round 3 - Nick Dardanes (MINN) won by decision over Steven Keith (HARV), 7-4

149 - Dylan Ness scored 3.00 team points.
    Cons. Round 2 - Dylan Ness (MINN) won by fall over Alex Hudson (CHATT), 2:30
    Cons. Round 3 - Dylan Ness (MINN) won by decision over Raymond Borja (NAVY), 9-2

157 - Danny Zilverberg scored 0.50 team points.
    Cons. Round 2 - Danny Zilverberg (MINN) won by decision over Kyle Bradley (MIZZ), 6-0
    Cons. Round 3 - James Fleming (CLAR) won by decision over Danny Zilverberg (MINN), 6-4

165 - Cody Yohn and scored 0.00 team points.
    Quarterfinal - Peter Yates (VT) won in sudden victory 2 over Cody Yohn (MINN), 5-3

174 - Logan Storley scored 1.00 team point + semifinal advancement.
    Quarterfinal - Logan Storley (MINN) won by decision over Michael Evans (IOWA), 3-2

184 - Kevin Steinhaus scored 2.00 team points.
    Cons. Round 2 - Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) won by major decision over Ophir Bernstein (BROWN), 13-5
    Cons. Round 3 - Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) won by decision over Mason Bailey (NAVY), 4-1

197 - Scott Schiller scored 0.00 team points.
    Quarterfinal - Quentin Wright (PSU) won by fall over Scott Schiller (MINN), 2:49

285 - Tony Nelson scored 1.00 team point + semifinal advancement.
    Quarterfinal - Tony Nelson (MINN) won by decision over Jarod Trice (CMU), 1-0




Gophers Pin Rider in Regular Season Finale, 32-12

Gophers Pin Rider in Regular Season Finale, 32-12

2/16/2018 - Wrestling

Minnesota finished the regular season on a high note with a 32-12 victory over Rider on the road on Friday night.

Through the Lens - Big Ten Tournament

Through the Lens - Big Ten Tournament

2/15/2018 - Wrestling

Chris Pfarr sat down with to discuss thie Big Ten Tournament and what it can mean for some wrestlers.

Gophers Wrap Up Regular Season at Rider

Gophers Wrap Up Regular Season at Rider

2/15/2018 - Wrestling

The University of Minnesota (9-8, 4-5 Big Ten) will travel to New Jersey for the second straight weekend, this time to face Rider (12-4) in Lawrenceville, N.J. at 6:00 p.m. CT

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics