8 of 10 Wrestlers Remain Alive for Titles after Session I
Nick Dardanes earned bonus points for the Gophers with a 12-3 major decsision over Luke Goettl in the opening round of the tournament.

March 21, 2013

Session I - Updated Brackets

Session I - Agate

Session I - Team Standings

The Minnesota Golden Gophers hold third place with 11 points after the morning session of the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa. In a tight race for the top position, the Maroon and Gold only trail leader Penn State by three and a half points. Oklahoma sits in second with 13.

Eight of 10 Gophers made it past the opening round to advance in their respective brackets. Three individuals; Nick Dardanes, Kevin Steinhaus, and Scott Schiller, tallied major decisions to boost the team score with bonus points. Dardanes picked up his team-leading 12th major of the season with a 12-3 score against Luke Goettl (Iowa State). He will face Richard Durso of Franklin and Marshall in tonight's session.

Steinhaus and Schiller each rallied for 10-1 marks; Steinhaus against Nick Vetterlein (Virginia Tech) at 184 lbs. and Schiller against Christian Boley (Maryland) at 197 lbs. Next up for Steinhaus is Iowa's Ethen Lofthouse, a familiar opponent, while Schiller will take on Binghamton's Nathan Schiedel for the first time.

The remaining five wrestlers advanced with strong decisions. At 133 lbs., Chris Dardanes came away with the 6-3 victory over Dylan Hyder of Air Force. He will face Rutgers' Vincent Dellafave.

 Down in the third period, Dylan Ness showed up in the clutch to come back for a 4-2 victory over Daniel Young (Army). Ness advances to face Missouri's Drake Houdashelt, who upset No. 11 Andrew Alton of Penn State with a 4-1 decision.

Cody Yohn looks to Patrick Graham of Oklahoma tonight after his victory in the opening round. Yohn poured on an aggressive offense against Josh Houldsworth (Columbia) and it paid off as Yohn walked away with a 7-1 decision.

Logan Storley grabbed a solid win at 174 lbs. to start his journey off on the right foot. Storley won by a 3-1 decision over Bryce Hammond (Cal State Bakersfield) to move to the next round. Tonight, he will meet NIU's Matt Mougin. Mougin upset Arizona State's No. 11 Blake Stauffer in the morning.

At heavyweight, Tony Nelson closed out the competition as the final match of the afternoon. Nelson easily handled Steve Graziano (Penn) to a 4-0 finish for his advancement. Nelson's next battle is against Odie Delaney of The Citadel in tonight's competition.

David Thorn and Danny Zilverberg were Minnesota's only losses of the day and they sure made it tough for their competitors. Thorn faced No. 1 seed Alan Waters (Missouri) at 125 lbs. and poured on the pressure. In the end, Waters notched a late takedown for the 5-2 decision. Zilverberg matched up against Georgi Ivanov (Boise State) and fell 11-5. With the double-elimination tournament, both wrestlers will continue their fight through wrestlebacks and are still able to finish as high as third place.

2013 NCAA Division I Championships Results - Session I

Minnesota sits third with 11 team points

125 - David Thorn scored 0.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Alan Waters (MIZZ) won by decision over David Thorn (MINN), 5-2

133 - Chris Dardanes scored 1.00 team point.
    Champ. Round 1 - Chris Dardanes (MINN) won by decision over Dylan Hyder (AFA), 6-3

141 - Nick Dardanes scored 2.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Nick Dardanes (MINN) won by major decision over Luke Goettl (ISU), 12-3

149 - Dylan Ness scored 1.00 team point.
    Champ. Round 1 - Dylan Ness (MINN) 15-4 won by decision over Daniel Young (ARMY), 4-2

157 - Danny Zilverberg scored 0.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Georgi Ivanov (BOISE) won by decision over Danny Zilverberg (MINN), 11-5

165 - Cody Yohn scored 1.00 team point.
    Champ. Round 1 - Cody Yohn (MINN) won by decision over Josh Houldsworth (COLUM), 7-1

174 - Logan Storley scored 1.00 team point.
    Champ. Round 1 - Logan Storley (MINN) won by decision over Bryce Hammond (CSUB), 3-1

184 - Kevin Steinhaus scored 2.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) won by major decision over Nick Vetterlein (VT), 10-1

197 - Scott Schiller scored 2.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Scott Schiller (MINN) won by major decision over Christian Boley (MD), 10-1

285 - Tony Nelson scored 1.00 team point.
    Champ. Round 1 - Tony Nelson (MINN) won by decision over Steven Graziano (PENN), 4-0




Eight Gophers Named Academic All-Big Ten


Five of the team’s NCAA qualifiers are among those honored by the conference for achievements in the classroom

Gophers Return to NCAA Top 10


Minnesota finished seventh at the 2017 NCAA Championships, marking the 19th time in 21 season the Maroon and Gold have finished among the nation’s 10 best

Four Gophers Become All-Americans; Two into Finals


A quartet of Gophers earned All-America status on the second day of the 2017 NCAA Championships, led by Ethan Lizak and Brett Pfarr, who will wrestle for individual titles on Saturday

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics