No. 3 Gophers Top No. 21 Hoosiers, 35-6
No. 1 Scott Schiller defeated Cheney Dale to move to 24-0 on the season for the Gophers.

Feb. 2, 2014

Photo Gallery 1  |  Photo Gallery 2 

MINNEAPOLIS - Third-ranked Minnesota was able to claim their ninth win of the season as the defeated No. 21 Indiana in their second-to-last home dual of the season. The Gophers won eight bouts on the afternoon en route to a 35-6 win over the Hoosiers. The Gophers are 9-1 on the season and 6-1 in Big Ten competition.

A 157 start had No. 8 Dylan Ness up first for the Golden Gophers as he expected to face No. 7 Taylor Walsh of Indiana. Instead, he faced unranked Alex Gregory and won by major decision to start the Gophers off with a four point lead. 

From there, the Gophers were on a roll and won the next 4 bouts as Danny Zilverberg, No. 6 Logan Storley, No. 8 Kevin Steinhaus and No. 1 Scott Schiller all came up with wins for the Gophers. Schiller picked up his twenty fourth-straight victory to continue his undefeated season as he pinned Cheney Dale of Indiana in 2:37. Schiller remains the only undefeated Gopher wrestler.

The Gophers were able to pick up three major decisions and one fall in the first five bouts to put Minnesota up 21-0 going into intermission. 

No. 4 Tony Nelson, who had three losses going into the dual, was unable to top No. 6 Adam Chalfant as he lost by decision, 3-2, in regulation. This is is first regulation loss of the year, the other three losses came in overtime. Nelson is now 21-4 on the season for the Gophers as he continues his quest toward his third-consecutive national championship title. 

Reigning Big Ten Wrestler of the Week and Flowrestling Brute Wrestler of the Week, Sam Brancale, was able to come away with a major decision over Indiana's Alonzo Shepherd, 15-3, at 125. 

No. 9 David Thorn followed Schiller's suit at 133 as he was able to pin Chris Caton at 2:26. 

At 141, Corey Hodowanic stepped in for the the first time this season for Chris Dardanes. Hodowanic was unable to come away with a win for the Gophers as he was defeated by Trevor Moody of Indiana. 

No. 3 Nick Dardanes added four points at the end of the daul to extend the Gophers score to 35 with a major decision over Indiana's Eric Roach. 

The Gophers will head to the Sports Pavilion for the last time this season next Sunday as they host No. 1 Penn State. The dual is sold out but fans will able to tune in as the Big Ten Network will broadcast live from Minneapolis on Sunday afternoon. The dual will begin at 1:00 p.m. CT and the doors will open an hour prior. The five Gopher seniors will be honored during Sunday's dual. 


157: No. 8 Dylan Ness (MINN) won by major decision over Alex Gregory (IU) 8-0. Minnesota leads 4-0.

165: Danny Zilverberg (MINN) won by decision over Ryan LeBlanc (IU) 4-2. Minnesota leads 7-0. 

174: No. 6 Logan Storley (MINN) won by major decision over Mathew Irick (IU) 14-5. Minnesota leads 11-0. 

184: No. 8 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) won by major decision over Lucas Sheridan (IU) 15-2. Minnesota leads 15-0. 

197: No. 1 Scott Schiller (MINN) won by pin over Cheney Dale (IU) 2:37. Minnesota leads 21-0. 

HWT: No. 6 Adam Chalfant (IU) won by decision over No. 4 Tony Nelson (MINN) 3-2. Minnesota leads 21-3. 

125: Sam Brancale (MINN) won by major decision over Alonzo Shepherd (IU). Minnesota leads 25-3. 

133: No. 9 David Thorn (MINN) won by pin over Chris Caton (IU) 2:26. Minnesota leads 31-3. 

141: Trevor Moody (IU) won by decision over Corey Hodowanic (MINN) 6-3. Minnesota leads 31-6. 

149: No. 3 Nick Dardanes (MINN) won by major decision over Eric Roach (IU) 15-6. Minnesota wins 35-6.





Three Freshman Pick Up Worthington Open Titles

Three Freshman Pick Up Worthington Open Titles

1/20/2018 - Wrestling

Five freshmen traveled to Worthington, Minn. and three came back champions of the Worthington Open. Brent Jones, Jakob Bergeland and Alex Crowe eached finished the day undefeated for the ...

Gophers Welcome Wolverines in B1G Matchup

Gophers Welcome Wolverines in B1G Matchup

1/18/2018 - Wrestling

The No. 13 University of Minnesota Gophers will be taking on No. 8 Michigan on Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. in Maturi Pavilion.

Through the Lens - Athletes Village

Through the Lens - Athletes Village

1/18/2018 - Wrestling

Senior Chris Pfarr toured recently opened Athletes Village in this week's Through the Lens.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics