Mead Wins USATF 10,000 Meters
June 23, 2017


SACRAMENTO, Calif. ( – Gopher Track & Field and Cross Country legend Hassan Mead captured a U.S. title in the men’s 10,000 meters early Friday morning at the 2017 USATF Outdoor Championships, held at Sacramento State’s Hornet Stadium.

Mead, an eight-time All-American and a nine-time Big Ten champion for the Gophers, clocked a time of 29.01.44 for the win and punched his ticket to represent Team USATF at the 2017 IAAF World Championships in London this August. He previously represented the United States at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in the 5,000 meters and finished 15th in the 5,000 meters at the 2015 IAAF World Championships.

Mead’s title on Friday snapped Galen Rupp’s streak of eight consecutive USATF 10,000 meter championships.

“I picked the right spikes today because I usually go with very aggressive spikes,” Mead told USATF. “For being a 10K, I went down a notch or two. My legs felt comfortable. Anytime my legs feel comfortable, breathing is nice. I was very comfortable and controlled out there the whole race. It was pretty good.”

Meanwhile, one of two current Gophers competing in Sacramento this week closed out his collegiate career as senior Mitch Hechsel finished 22nd in the men’s 800 meters at 1:48.70. Hechsel ends his Gophers career as a two-time All-American and a Big Ten champion in the indoor 600 meter. Gophers alum Harun Abda finished 25th in Thursday’s race at 1:48.85.

Additionally, Sean Donnelly finished third in the men’s hammer throw at 71.45 meters (234-05 ft.) while Ben Blankenship led his men’s 1,500 meter heat at 3:42.95 to advance to Saturday’s final. Travis Burkstrand clocked a 3:44.49 to finish 25th in the 1,500 meters.





Gophers Remember Steve Hoag


Hoag was a team captain, an All-American and a Big Ten champion for the Maroon & Gold, competing in cross country and track.

Mead Set for IAAF World Championships


The men's 10,000 meters is scheduled for 3:20 p.m. CT on Friday, Aug. 4 at London Stadium.

Gophers Earn USTFCCCA Academic Honors


Jordan Charles, Ryan Lockard, Shane Streich, Derek Wiebke and Luca Wieland represented Minnesota on the individual honor roll.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics