Naumoff Inducted Into "M" Club Hall of Fame
Rick Naumoff became the first men's tennis player to be inducted into the "M" Club Hall of Fame.

Oct. 24, 2013

The University of Minnesota “M” Club and the Minnesota Athletic Department honored 10 former and current Gophers by inducting them into the University of Minnesota “M” Club Hall of Fame in a ceremony held at the DQ Club Room at TCF Bank Stadium Thursday. One of the honorees was former Gopher men’s tennis standout Rick Naumoff.

“The appreciation from everyone here is overwhelming for me,” Naumoff said. “To see the band again and the alums and the letterwinners here really means a lot and it's touching and overwhelming."

Naumoff was part of the Minnesota men's tennis team from 1990 to 1993 and finished his career as one of the most decorated athletes in program history. With Naumoff leading the way, the Golden Gophers marked an 86-26 record over a span of four years.

During his junior and senior seasons, Naumoff helped his squad claim two consecutive Big Ten Championship titles with back-to-back unblemished 10-0 conference seasons. He also picked up a singles championship at the No. 1 position in 1993. For his efforts on the court, Naumoff earned All-Big Ten accolades in 1992 and 1993 and was named 1993 Big Ten Player of the Year. He also became Minnesota's fifth All-American during his senior campaign.

Naumoff is the first men's tennis player to be inducted into the "M" Club Hall of Fame.

The criteria for induction to the University of Minnesota “M” Club Hall of Fame include four different categories: significant accomplishments by a former student-athlete; significant achievements by a former coach or administrator; significant contributions of time, talent or resources to the athletics department by someone other than an athlete, coach or administrator, and significant professional achievement by a former Minnesota student-athlete.

Former student-athletes inducted for significant accomplishments become eligible for selection five years after the expiration of their eligibility, while former coaches and staff members must have served the department for five years to be eligible.



Fellow Class of 2013 inductees were Jon Andresen (baseball), Jim Carter (football/hockey), Natalie Darwitz (women's hockey), Charlie Sanders (football), Krissy Wendell Pohl (women's hockey), Gary Wilson (women's cross country and women's track & field), Loyd LaMois (men's track), Louis Lick (men's golf) and Larry Ross (men's hockey).

Also at the ceremony, 20 50-year letterwinners from 1963 were honored, including men’s tennis player Chuck Mikkelson.


First Serve With Eli Ogilvy

11/28/2016 sat down with the Mississauga, Ont. Native to find out more from about his freshman year at Minnesota.

First Serve With Stefan Milicevic


The Belgrade, Serbia native posted a 5-2 record in both singles and doubles matches this fall. sat down with Milicevic to ask him some questions about his college...

Gophers Win Both Draws At Gopher Invite


The Golden Gophers had two pairs come away with wins in the finals of both draws of the Gopher Invite Sunday.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics