Jean Freeman Invite Comes to a Close
Derek Toomey won the 100 freestyle

Dec. 7, 2013

Complete Results

The Jean Freeman Invite concluded on Saturday night after two full days of competition in the University Aquatic Center. Among the nine schools in attendance at the meet, the University of Minnesota swimming and diving team proved to be a strong performer as multiple members on both the men’s and women’s side had successful final heats.

The first wins of day two for the Gophers were awarded in the relay department. On the women’s side the team consisting of Tess Behrens, Blake Zeiger, Tori Simenec, and Abigail Raatz earned a first-place finish in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:44.37. The men’s side followed suite as well in the event as the team made up of Daryl Turner, Nick Hatanaka, Kyler Van Swol, and Derek Toomey won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:29.03.

Alex Cisneros picked up the first individual event of the night by receiving the top spot in the 400 individual medley with a time of 4:02.78.

In the 100 freestyle, all three top finishes came from Gophers on the men’s side. Derek Toomey won the event with time of 44.38, while Kyler Van Swol (44.81) and Carl Newenhouse (46.10) followed right after with second and third place.



Freshman Daryl Turner picked up the 100 backstroke by sweeping the top title in both the preliminary and final heat. Ultimately, Turner finished the event with a time of 48.81.

On the women’s side, Tori Simenec earned a top finish in the 100 butterfly by completing the event in a time of 53.92. Blake Zeiger ended up taking second place in the event with a time of 55.78.

Samantha Harding earned third in the 200 breaststroke by out-swimming her previous time from preliminaries. Ending the race with a time of 2:25.30, earlier in the day she had swam a 2:25.52.

For both men and women, Minnesota completely swept the one-meter diving competition. Manny Pollard (348.35), Nick Rodriguez (278.40), and Erik Larsen (274.50) all took home the three top remarks earned in the well. The women also had the top three divers as Katy Etterman (312.20), Sarah McCrady (294.20), and Lexi Tenenbaum (284.10) finished with first-, second-, and third-place honors.

Minnesota heads across the Pacific Ocean to Hawaii. The team is set to compete against the University of Hawaii on Jan. 11, 2014.


Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

4/16/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota celebrated the 2017-18 season at its annual banquet to recognize the team's accomplishments as well as individual award winners.

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

4/3/2018 - M. Swimming

2017-18 saw the team earn individual championship titles, impressive dual record, numerous individual top times and new school record times.

Gophers Finish 15th at NCAA Meet

Gophers Finish 15th at NCAA Meet

3/24/2018 - M. Swimming

The University of Minnesota earns their best finish at the NCAA meet since 2011.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics