Jean Freeman Invite Wraps Up
Josh Hall won the 200 breast Saturday night

Dec. 1, 2012

Complete Results

The No. 8 University of Minnesota swimming and diving team concluded the Jean Freeman Invite Saturday night at the University Aquatic Center. The Gophers had a very strong night of swimming and diving, winning 13 events on the night.

Minnesota’s women divers dominated on the 1 meter board, earning the one through five places. Maggie Keefer won the event with a mark of 318.65. Sarah McCrady, Katie Grunawalt, Jessica Ramberg and Katy Etterman followed in that order. They also had a great showing in 3 meter, each placing in the top five, lead by Keefer once again (326.40).

On the men’s side of diving, the Gophers earned the top four finishes. Mikey Ross led the group for the win with a mark of 361.90. In the proceeding order, Jordan Lesser, Dylan Zoe and Erik Larsen earned the two, three and four spots. In 1 meter, Ross also earned first place (374.55).

Minnesota’s men and women both won the 200 medley relay on the night. Tess Behrens, Emma Jackson, Christie Clarke and Heidi Busack made up the winning relay with a time of 1:46.77. Carl Newenhouse, Jared Anderson, Kyler Van Swol and Derek Toomey won the men’s relay at 1:30.51.

In the women’s 400 IM, freshman Kierra Smith won the event with a time of 4:22.01, while Tori Simenec earned the second place spot at 4:24.63. Smith also claimed first place honors in the 100 breast (1:03.09).

The men had complete control of the 400 IM, receiving the first though fifth spots. Logan Redondo lead the pack (4:10.40) followed closely behind by Garrett Larson, CJ Smith, Grant Alef and Rin Isobe.

Annalise Colton earned a victory for the Gophers in the 100 fly, touching the wall at 55.82. In the event, Minnesota claimed the two, three, four, five, six, seven, nine and 11 spots as well. For the men, Sandy Whitaker finished second and Drew Johnson came in third.

In the 200 free, Elizabeth Weitz beat out all others for first place with a time of 1:28.89. Lauren Weis came in second and Kiera Janzen third.

In the men’s 200 free, Sean Nesheim earned the victory, touching the wall at 1:40.67.  He led 14 other Gophers that finished in the top 17 of the event. In the 200 breast, Josh Hall claimed first place honors at 55.53.

To finish off the night, the Gopher men won the 800 free relay with a time of 6:53.46. The team was made up of Van Swol, Brandon Hatanaka, Toomey and Samuels. 




Gophers Fly Past Denver

Gophers Fly Past Denver

1/13/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota enjoyed their return to the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center with a pair of dual wins over Denver Saturday afternoon.

Gophers Victorious in the Aloha State

Gophers Victorious in the Aloha State

1/7/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota wrapped up their annual training trip to Hawai'i with a pair of victories Saturday evening.

Gophers Complete Tennessee Diving Invite

Gophers Complete Tennessee Diving Invite

1/5/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota diving closed out the final day of the Tennessee Diving Invite with four top eight finishes on the platform.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics