Minnesota Grand Prix Concludes
The Gophers wrapped up the Minnesota Grand Prix Sunday night on a high note

Nov. 11, 2012

Complete Results

After three days of intense competition, the Minnesota Grand Prix wrapped up Sunday night at the University Aquatic Center. The Gophers marked 16 different appearances in the championship finals on the night.

The night kicked off with the women’s 1,650 free as Minnesota alum Ashley Steenvoorden claimed third place honors with a time of 15:57.11. Kiera Janzen finished in fifth in the event at 16:24.83, followed by Loren Brandon in seventh (16:54.10) and Samantha Harding in eighth (16:59.01). Later in the evening, CJ Smith earned third place in the men’s 1,650 free with a time of 15.24.71.

Freshman Kierra Smith had yet another strong night of competition as she swam an impressive 2:00.11 in the 200 IM for second place, followed by Tori Simenec in third with a time of 2:02.13.

The Minnesota men dominated the 200 IM, making up five of the eight spots in the A final. Kyler Van Swol finished in the runner-up spot behind Ryan Lochte with a time of 1:49.24. Brandon Hatanaka finished in third (1:50.57), David Friesch in sixth (1:53.14), Jason Hartbarger in seventh (1:54.68) and Greg Norsten in eighth (1:56.64).

In the women’s 200 back, Tess Behrens finished runner-up to Missy Franklin, touching the wall at 1:56.07. Also competing in the championship final was Haley Pietila in fifth (2:01.99) and Katie Anton in sixth (2:02.16).

On the men’s side, Carl Newenhouse earned third place honors in the 200 back with a time of 1:46.50 and Chris Johnson came in seventh at 1:51.41.

The Gopher women had five competitors in the A final of the 100 free, lead by Erin Caflisch as she claimed second place at 49.65. In fourth place was Jessica Plant (49.88), Becca Weiland in fifth (49.90), Lauren Votava in seventh (50.37) and Lauren Weis in eighth (51.26).

The Gopher men went 2-3-4-5 in the 100 free as Hrvoje Capan finished in the runner-up spot with a time of 45.10. Derek Toomey followed in third at 45.20, Felix Samuels in fourth at 45.30, and earning a fifth place 45.72 was Ben Griggs.

In the final event of the meet, both of Minnesota men’s and women’s A 400 medley relay teams earned a victory. The women’s team, made up of Tess Behrens, Kierra Smith, Becca Weiland and Erin Caflisch won with a time of 3:39.74. Carl Newenhouse, Jared Anderson, Kyler Van Swol and Derek Toomey made up the men’s team that finished in first with a time of 3:16.40.

The Gophers have a break in competition now until they host the Jean Freeman Invite November 30-December 1 at the University Aquatic Center. 




Gophers Fly Past Denver

Gophers Fly Past Denver

1/13/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota enjoyed their return to the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center with a pair of dual wins over Denver Saturday afternoon.

Gophers Victorious in the Aloha State

Gophers Victorious in the Aloha State

1/7/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota wrapped up their annual training trip to Hawai'i with a pair of victories Saturday evening.

Gophers Complete Tennessee Diving Invite

Gophers Complete Tennessee Diving Invite

1/5/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota diving closed out the final day of the Tennessee Diving Invite with four top eight finishes on the platform.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics